JVC BR-DV3000U (was: miniDV deck with firewire) - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18th, 2004, 07:34 PM   #16
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
You're definitely not the only one that's had this kind of problems though.
Here's a whole product review that sounds similar to your story.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2004, 07:51 PM   #17
Major Player
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 762
Wow! That's quite an article. I don't know whether to thank you or cry! This thing started giving me dropout problems almost from the first tape I put in it. I was looking at some new footage today and it had BIG dropouts on it again.....and my heads only have 15 hours on them. What can you do in a case like this? JVC Service proclaimed it up-to-spec after checking it out and doing their firmware update. However, a lot of what I shoot winds up in broadcast and this deck is absolutely useless to me for that purpose.

Dave Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2004, 12:35 AM   #18
New Boot
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: roma - italia
Posts: 10
I have the same problems with JVC HR-DVS3U (miniDV-SVHS deck) since day one of its use.
I always shot videos using CANON XL1S and JVC HR-DVS3U for play back and I always have the same glitches showed on that article.
They appear randomly for 1 or 2 frames along all tape.
If I capture the same footage using XL1s instead of JVC all goes fine without glitches at all.
So to save my camera I usually capture all tapes with HR-DVS3U and I capture again those short piece of footage who have glitches using XL1S.
this annoy me a lot.
I tried to find a solution changing tapes, camera, PC, capture program, NLE card, cleaning heads, but nothing is changed.
JVC HR-DVS3U is the guilty.
I think JVC DV products are of very poor grade compared with other brands.
We are talking about different decks in this post but same problems.
I will sure stay away from JVC next time.
Franco Zefferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2004, 07:04 AM   #19
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
I do feel bad for you guys.
I'm really shocked that a company can say that a $2000 playback deck that routinely generates drop-outs is performing in spec.

I'm just sticking to using my little ZR25 camcorder as a "deck" for now. Seems to play miniDV tapes shot on anything else just fine. (Can't handle full sized cassettes though.)

Good luck.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2005, 06:19 AM   #20
New Boot
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: near Arnhem (Netherlands)
Posts: 10
JVC BR-DV3000 issue

I recently got me a JVC BR-DV3000 recorder, after hiring for two years a Sony dsr11.

It works reasonably fine, but when capturing after one or two tapes the timecode isnot read any more and the image in the preview appears as stripes. After cleaning the heads with a cleaningtape it works allright again.

But it seems to me that this not as it is supposed to be. With the DSR11 you never had to clean the heads as much.

Anyone familiar with this problem?

(also posted under 'editing with the mac')
Peter Schmitz

documentaries and arty videoclips
Peter Schmitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2005, 10:47 AM   #21
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
This is the case..

I also have the same deck, and I have the same problem after 1 or 2 tapes it's time to clean the heads again..

"Response from JVC"

Thank you for your inquiry. Routine head cleaning is recommended at an interval however head clogs can occur anytime a tape is inserted into the unit that contains dust or other particles. It appears that the tape that you used in you BR-DV3000U contaminated the heads. Your deck should continue to perform normally.

Dwayne Kersey
Professional Products Support Specialist
JVC Americas Corporation
1700 Valley Road
Wayne, NJ 07470


One should note that I sent an email explaining I have tried numerous different tapes even Sony DVCAM high end tapes..
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2005, 04:34 PM   #22
New Boot
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: near Arnhem (Netherlands)
Posts: 10
Thanks for your response.

I heard that the reason for the malfunction could be not-up to date firmware.
The Dutch importer made me an offer to look into the matter, although according to my serial number the firmware should be up to date.

At this moment the deck is working ok. The problem seems to occur when I am capturing more than 1 tape at a row.

But maybe I let the deck be checked anyway. I keep you posted on the outcome (could be take a few weeks)

Peter Schmitz

documentaries and arty videoclips
Peter Schmitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2005, 12:05 AM   #23
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
That sounds like firmware issues to me.
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2006, 12:05 PM   #24
New Boot
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Portsmouth, Virginia
Posts: 5
JVC has been good to me!

I was poking around looking to see if anyone had issues with Vegas when outputting to tape on a JVC BR-DV3000 (I have 8 in our editing suite). I was amazed at this thread. I have 16 of the SR-VS20s. I have had, admittedly, one 20 die a painful and quick death of power supply. But in all (we are predominantly a Sony DVCam facility), these little buggers have really made the grade. I noted that all these issues were with the XL1 and I was wondering if it is an interface issue rather than a bad deck? I have had some gear that will NOT work with the texas instruments IEEE 1394 driver but work well with the the Generic OHCI compliant driver. Premier has a similar interface issue. Sometimes that manifests itself as faulty device control, dropouts, and output crashes.

I have a HD10 and had impossible trouble with the capture utilities until I noted that somehow the Texas Instruments driver was reloaded!!!!!

I had chip failure with the HD10 and JVC fixed it, upgraded the firmware, and set it back in a week. FOR FREE!

Gary R. Brown
Video Engineer
Portsmouth Public Schools
Gary R. Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 03:33 AM   #25
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 903
I have the JVC HR-DVS3U, a Sony GV-D1000 and a Sony VX2100. I have played tapes recorded on any one of these on all the others, with not a hint of any problem. That includes recordings made on LP. I use only Sony Excellence tapes. Don't be so sure that either of the JVC VCRs being discussed here are the ones at fault, when glitches show up. Try playing the tapes recorded on the Canon camcorder on several other makes and models of camcorders and VCRs. Then, play tapes from non-Canon camcorders on the JVC VCRs and you may be able to better determine where the fault lies.

There have been several times when repair shops have told me nothing was wrong with a piece of equipment, when I knew firsthand that was not true. I once had to send in a Canon camcorder four times to two different repair shops, before I could get one to recognize that the camera section was completely dead. Three times it was sent back and they claimed it was in perfect order. Only by getting in the face of the last bench repairman who sent it back, could I get him to take a close enough look at it, to actually see the obvious breakdown. This all took five months and I spent $120. on shipping. I'd have trouble believing this story, if it hadn't happened to me.

Some repair shops are so eager to run equipment in and out their doors and collect their money, that they never look very deep into many problems. Just because they tell you that your VCR and your camcorder's tapes are OK, you shouldn't take for granted that they made enough effort to really determine this.
J. Stephen McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2007, 05:08 PM   #26
Mad Scientist
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 47
I own this specific deck and can say unequivicably that the review linked to above is absolutely correct, to my experience.
Kevin Triplett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2007, 12:50 PM   #27
New Boot
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville KY USA
Posts: 5
own this deck too and there have been some issues

I have sent my 3000 back twice because it was not recording properly over a previously recorded tape. Each time they say they cleaned it but it will act up again after just a few tapes. I have given up using it as my main record deck and now use the HD50 with no problems at all.

I have found that the tapes that come from any of the Canon cameras will have issues when they are played in another deck. I work for the production department for a cable company and whenever someone brought us a tape from an XL1 or any Canon camera they would not play correctly in a Sony or a JVC deck.
Becky Wills is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:18 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network