HVR-A1U timecode/tape issues? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 16th, 2006, 12:43 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 34
HVR-A1U timecode/tape issues?

Howdy, folks! First post. Great looking low noise forum.

I used the A1U in DV mode a couple weeks ago, on an ENG assignment for www.digitalproductionbuzz.com. The shoot went well-- very run and gun in wildly varied lighting-- and no tripods allowed on the show floor. Agh. But I managed it, thanks to a Manfrotto monopod and a Lectrosonics wireless system.

Back at HQ I loaded the first DVCAM cassette into my DSR-40 deck and... flashing spastic timecode!

This is a brand new camera. This is brand new DVCAM 40N tape. This is an older deck but with a head which was replaced and now has only ten hours on it.

A close look at the A1U manual tells you (page 3) that Sony "recommends" DVCAM for DVCAM mode-- but MiniDV for HDV or DV mode! Yet there's no explicit prohibition on using DVCAM for plain DV shoots. And the Sony tech who returned my call felt I'd done the right thing, shooting DV on high quality tape.

So far, my tests indicate DVCAM in DVCAM mode is fine. I have only done a brief HDV test.

All modes capture fine, including the spastic timecode in DV mode-- unless you happen to log an In or Out on a dropped code frame-- it drops to 00:00:00:01 and that will screw up a batch capture. But with care in logging, the footage is fine and has been successfully edited. Clips are now appearing on the site.

Who else has experienced this peculiar problem?

TIA

- Loren
Loren Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2006, 05:52 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: netherlands
Posts: 21
spastic timecode

Thanks loren

I dont believe that our problems are similar. My camera gives a C31-23S error reading, and starts to stutter in capture mode which is a drag it seems I will have to have the camera checked. I shot 30 hours in HDV and want to edit on PC a can of worms, easy to capture dv not so easy with HDV and on..
Chris
Chris Macneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2006, 03:06 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Macneil
Thanks loren

I dont believe that our problems are similar.
I agree, your problems sound more serious.

My theory about the the timecode problem here is that DVCAM tape is more robust and travels 1/3 faster over the heads, while the same tape in slower DV mode somehow doesn't wrap around the head and misrecords the timecode track. I could also be all wet. Sony tech hadn't a clue.

DVCAM in DVCAM mode on this camera is rock solid. DV is not. (HDV works well on DVCAM too, which is curious.)

- Loren
Loren Miller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network