Should a new MiniDV tape be "striped"? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2003, 11:28 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vimeiro - Portugal
Posts: 255
Should a new MiniDV tape be "striped"?

I remember seeing a post were someone said something about "striping" the tape before it was used for the first time, meaning, recording "black" video on the entire tape so it would have time code from begining to end.

Any thoughts on that? Just plain silly and a waste of time or is there any reason in doing that?

Would very much like to ear from you people.

Take care
Arnaldo Paixao
Arnaldo Paixao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 11:32 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
I say....
No.

DV will re-record the time code overtop of whatever you lay down, so there's no point there.

I record 60 seconds of black over the start of the tape, to skip any initial tape glitches.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 11:39 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vimeiro - Portugal
Posts: 255
Blank tapes

Thank U for your reply.

Just to be perfectly clear. I'm talking about blank tapes, not allready used ones.

So what you mean is that, even with brand new blank tapes, there is no point in doing that?
Arnaldo Paixao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 02:53 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I would fast forward and rewind blank tapes to repack them. Repacking equalizes the tension on the tape, allows it to lay flat, and any material loose from manufacture or shipping can fall off. Loose material can cause dropouts.

Blacking a tape to put continuous time code is a hold over from linear editing. In my opinion it only adds additional wear and tear on your equipment.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 03:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 202
Jeff, are you still able to batch capture properly if you don't stripe a minidv tape?
Joe Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 04:10 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I agree with Jeff. NO pre-striping is necessary with DV tape, but, you need to FF and rewind to get all the loose particles of media out so they don't clog your camera transport mechanism.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 10:09 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Joe, I don't have problems with FCP. Your NLE may behave differently. I always record a few seconds of footage after the end of the take and before the actual start of the next. That way if I do get a break, I can capture around it.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 10:58 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Only if you want to waste a lot of time and put lots of wear & tear on your equipment. You can make sure you get no timecode breaks by ALWAYS starting before the previous recording ended.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 11:19 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
<<<-- Originally posted by Joe Lloyd : Jeff, are you still able to batch capture properly if you don't stripe a minidv tape? -->>>

Absolutely using Vegas Video. I don't think I've striped a miniDV tape in my life. If you have an NLE that doesn't, it's time to switch.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2003, 03:10 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vimeiro - Portugal
Posts: 255
MiniDV tapes

Thank you all.
Arnaldo Paixao is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network