DV tapes unusable after DVCam record at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2003, 11:29 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands - Europe
Posts: 21
DV tapes unusable after DVCam record

I used to have a Sony PD1 DVCam camera. Now I have bought the Canon GL2/MX2 which is a standard DV format.
If I use one of the previous DVCam tapes to record the sound is off-sync and very slow (appr 30% too slow) when I capture the tape on my PC..
Wjat can I do to "re-format" the tapes ?
Thanks
Peter Dorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2003, 11:40 AM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
DVCam has a faster tape to head speed. That is why they only record 40 minutes to a 60 minute mini DV tape. You will need to borrow, rent etc. a DVCam camera or deck and record the signal to your MX2 for future use.

Some people have slowed the sound down with software, in post, with mixed success.. The pitch is usually off slightly and a lot of time is wasted getting sync to match.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2003, 12:00 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands - Europe
Posts: 21
Hi Jeff,
You're an active person :-)
I do not need the footage anymore, I just want to re-use the tapes but cannot use them on my new Canon without this problem. Also with new footage.
Peter Dorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2003, 12:37 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
That's odd, have you tried using a bulk eraser to erase the tape? The consumer ones generally aren't powerful enough with the new tape formulations. A TV station might run them through a commercial bulk eraser if you ask nice.

It's strange, I would think recording the DV format over the DVCam format would fix things.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2003, 10:18 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
What about "erasing" the tape by just recording a blank wall for 60 minutes and then trying again? Maybe that first time around there'd be a problem but after that'd maybe it'd be ok.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2003, 11:03 AM   #6
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Have you tried using new tapes? They're fairly cheap, so buy a few, and see what happens.
K. Forman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network