Beta SP transfer at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2007, 01:06 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 8
Beta SP transfer

I have a client who wants me to edit some footage that they have archived in Beta SP. I don't have a beta deck, and am wondering what the best way to digitize this footage for use in Final Cut Pro.

Can anyone recommend a service or equipment for this?

Thanks,

Aaron
Aaron Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2007, 09:03 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
from what i know my friend, you need a Beta SP deck. No other way around it unless i am incorrect, someone will let you know if i am incorrect.
__________________
Canon 7D and 5D Mark II,Canon XL H1, XL2, Cinevate Atlas 30, Advanta Jib, AJA i/O, KONA LHe, AJA I/O HD, ZEISS PRIMES, G5 Quad Core, MacPro 2.66GHz, XSERVE RAID 10TB
Gregory Dillard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 12:49 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Many pro post houses will have a beta SP deck. Many duplication houses will as well. They can dub it to dvcam or mini-dv or whatever you need, this is probably the least expensive way to get the footage into your workflow.

Here in Portland I can get footage dubbed for $45/hr plus tape stock, or, rent a Beta SP deck for $225/day and do it myself.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 05:57 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 905
Am I mistaken, but aren't there some digital Beta VCRs that have the legacy feature of playing back analog BetaCam SP?
J. Stephen McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 08:50 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 4,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Stephen McDonald View Post
Am I mistaken, but aren't there some digital Beta VCRs that have the legacy feature of playing back analog BetaCam SP?
DigiBeta VTRs are backwards compatible. It's been one of the best features of Betacam over the years and a good duplication house should be able to make a copy for you.

Copying to a digital format that you can use with your NLE would be the easiest method.
Brian Drysdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 12:48 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 8
Thanks for the information, everyone.

I am in Fairbanks, Alaska and am having a hard time finding anyone with a Beta deck that can do the transfer for me. Can anyone recommend a good duplication house in the lower 48 that I could send them to? Seth, who do you use in Portland?

-Aaron
Aaron Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 04:10 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053
Aaron...

How much do you have to transfer?

I have a Betacam SP deck here (I'm in Hawaii) and do that quite a bit. It's possible to transfer to a hard drive with files that would be FCP-ready.

Also, since you're in Alaksa, I'd be willing to trade for fresh-frozen salmon roe! :-)
__________________
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2007, 06:34 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 8
Hi Dean,

Thanks for your offer. IF the client can locate the Beta masters (and right now that's a big if), it would only be 2 tapes with roughly 10 minutes on each.

I don't have any salmon roe but I do have some freshly frozen Copper River sockeye fillets that I caught a few weeks ago. Perhaps we could work something out if the client pulls through!

Aaron
Aaron Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 07:14 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Drysdale View Post
DigiBeta VTRs are backwards compatible. It's been one of the best features of Betacam over the years and a good duplication house should be able to make a copy for you.

Copying to a digital format that you can use with your NLE would be the easiest method.
The real expensive 40 thousand digital betacam decks need a special betacam card installed otherwise they cannot play back betacam sp.

However, some lower cost multi beta format decks have been made in the last few years and they may indeed play back all of the betacam formats, including betacam, betacam sp, betacam sx, and digital betacam.
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 07:17 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
One more thing.

When encoding from betacam sp, you probably surpass mini-dv quality if you use a kona or black magic card, output via component, and when transcoding to final cut pro, use the DVC-pro 50 codec instead of the mini-dv codec.

The DVC-Pro 50 codec appears to be the perfect compromise between uncompressed 8 or 10 bit, and DV 25.
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 07:34 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Aaron...........

Unless your local TV station is just a relay point (ie It does actually produce content) it's bound to have a Beta deck lurking around - give them a try.

CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 08:53 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
Beta to FCP

If I can get my hands on a beta deck:
Is there a way to go from the deck to a Mac Pro WITHOUT a Kona Card
and simply use firewire?

Thanks
John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 10:44 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
Mac sells a convertor for 99 dollars (I think). It gives you an S-video connection along with two rca connectors for the audio. I bought one but have not tried it yet, when I do I'll give an update.
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 10:46 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Benton View Post
If I can get my hands on a beta deck:
Is there a way to go from the deck to a Mac Pro WITHOUT a Kona Card
and simply use firewire?

Thanks

The newer betacam sp decks have a firewire output. I think it is the betacam sx decks that have the firewire feature. The betacam sx decks playback betacam sp, they may even play back digital betacam. However, they may be playback only for the additional non-sx formats, but I am not sure about that.
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 10:47 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
Allesandro,
Thanks !
Any idea what the #Mac box might be?
John Benton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network