GO Pro Camera at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Micro / POV Camera Systems
Covering the GoPro HERO and other small Point-Of-View video cameras.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 12th, 2010, 07:30 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
GO Pro Camera

HI, I'm having trouble loading in transcoded Go Pro .MOV files into final cut. I understand that you are supposed to use MPEG Stream clip and convert them to Pro Res 422. Instead of using MPEGSC, I used quicktime (because it was faster). The file still will not import into final cut.
Any advice?
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 09:16 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Try the ClipWrap free trial and see if it can handle your footage.

ClipWrap Software
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 02:44 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
Clipwrap

The problem with clipwrap is that is doesn't accept my .MOV or my original source footage which was delivered in MPEG4.
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 03:13 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,123
I know you're talking about FCP - but Adobe just imports the mpeg file as it comes off the card - no transcoding - does FCP not do this? I'd have thought mpeg4 wasn't that unusual as a file format?
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 04:06 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
Hey-

Yeah, these files were definitely delivered as Mpeg4s. Can Adobe export them as quicktimes Pro Res 4:2:2?
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 10:37 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
I doubt it. ProRes is an Apple product.
For Adobe, you probably need to use a DI like Cineform.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 06:01 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
ProRes is Apples version of Cineform. Idon't think using Quicktime actually encodes anything, it just puts a Quictime wrapper on it turning it into a .MOV, you still need the codec that created it.

Have you tried importing GoPro Files using Log and Transfer?

I upgrading FCP with the Canon plug-in for L&T of 7D footage, I don't know if its something Canon did or what came along with the latest Pro Apps upgrade but I've been able to use L&T for all kinds of stuff lately.
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2010, 12:38 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
Interesting! Maybe I should try the canon plug-in for L&T of 7D footage...
I did try the Log and Transfer Option but it didn't recognize the root folder.
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 11:41 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
well, its good to have but it definitely didn't work for go pro.
:(
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 03:54 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Young View Post
I doubt it. ProRes is an Apple product.
For Adobe, you probably need to use a DI like Cineform.
I think if you're on a Mac with FCS on it, the other apps on the machine would have access to ProRes wouldn't they?

It's been a while since I had a Mac PowerBook, but I thought Adobe could write ProRes as long as FCP was on the machine...maybe I'm wrong.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 03:54 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Katie I use the GoPro all the time and am even putting a fun clip up today.

You take the clip from the camera put it in Mpeg streamclip and choose Prores 422. Also if you have used 720 60fps make sure you put the 60 fps in the box. Or you can convert it here to 29.97 or what ever you are using. You can cut just what you want from the clip then export.

Now if you want to do slow motion you need to also use Cinema Tools which comes with FC. Once the clip is up go to Conform in the bottom right corner and pick the frame rate you need to make is slow motion. this is instant.

All of this is also spelled out on the GoPro site.

Does all of this make sense?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2010, 10:41 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
Yes, thank you. All of this makes sense.
However, MPEGSTREAM takes all day to encode my movie files and I have about 20. I did a test with 1 and did exactly as you say and I could not import it into final cut.
I'm contacting the Go Pro support team to see what they think.
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2010, 11:46 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Katie something must be wrong. For me to run a 32GB card through MPEG streamclip it is about 25 min going from 720p 60p to ProRes422.

Happy to give you all the settings if you don't find what you are looking for on GoPro.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network