GoPro Protune - Page 10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Micro / POV Camera Systems
Covering the GoPro HERO and other small Point-Of-View video cameras.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 11th, 2012, 03:07 PM   #136
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 319
Re: GoPro Protune

In Protune mode the camera is using maximum resources that is why preview doesn't work on the iPhone/iPad in that mode, it can't process 2 streams at once.

If you do the numbers a class 4 card is too slow, class 6 should handle the write speed, but class 10 is what is recommended by GoPro. The burst feature on the GOpro definatly requires class10 and they are cheap these days no excuse to not use them.
Ian Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 03:15 PM   #137
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro Protune

Don't buy class 6 cards, mine stops after few minutes.
Interesting because it can write 55mbps. Tested.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 04:25 PM   #138
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 63
Re: GoPro Protune

Thanks for the info about needing Class 10 cards. . . it took me a bit by surprise because I can(through an adapter) record full HD from my Sony EX1 onto those Class 4 cards which is a 35 mb/s codec.
Mark Sudfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 04:34 PM   #139
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro Protune

Protune is VBR, max peak was around 44mbit by me.
But still, my card can do 55 :(
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 12:03 AM   #140
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 319
Re: GoPro Protune

No ProTune is CBR Prech. What program/player did you read the 44mbps on?
Ian Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 12:51 AM   #141
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro Protune

Bitrate viewer.
Avidemux..
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 01:42 AM   #142
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mililani, Hawaii
Posts: 89
Re: GoPro Protune

David Newman wrote a lengthy article on the 'why & how' of the Protune upgrade. It's on his blog, Cineform Insider at the following link:

CineForm Insider: Protune


Jr. Pascual
49 Productions
Junior Pascual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 01:44 PM   #143
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
Re: GoPro Protune

Enjoying the thread and learning a lot. I think my earlier question may be answered in the link Junior Pascual to David Newman's blog: "The CineForm connection: 35Mb/s H.264 H264 is hard to decode, much harder than 15Mb/s. So transcoding to a faster editing format certainly helps"

That said I'd still love confirmation form anyone else about what I mentioned earlier, for me the raw 24p Protune clips do not playback smoothly in VLC Media Player though they played fine pre-update, ProTune, and 24p. Playback is pretty unwatchable for me now. Same is true with trying to drop the raw file in Sony Vegas, which again I had no issues with GoPro clips pre-update. I'm getting the same thing on my primary computer and my laptop.

Not looking for a solution necessarily as I can already use GoPro CineForm Studio to get a playable file though obviously would love to avoid the extra step. I just want to confirm if this is the norm for others trying to playback with VLC or edit the files straight out of the camera without transcoding or, if it's just me and I actually do have a local issue that I should try to resolve.

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 04:46 PM   #144
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Re: GoPro Protune

Is it stated somewhere that Go Pro Cameras and Bac Pacs are not recognised by the Device Window via USB3? If not it should be. It had me stuck for quite a time, and just on the off chance switched to USB2 (as another plug, not specifically as USB2) and found it worked. Then I found a mention of it on some website...
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2012, 10:01 AM   #145
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 117
Re: GoPro Protune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior Pascual View Post
David Newman wrote a lengthy article on the 'why & how' of the Protune upgrade. It's on his blog, Cineform Insider at the following link:

CineForm Insider: Protune


Jr. Pascual
49 Productions
Thanks for posting; I’m glad to see that it references the ‘everyday shooter’ being in mind with making this available. I was beginning to feel like this was intended for the pros only. So, it’s to be expected that ‘everyday shooters’ aren’t likely going to be experienced with post correction, etc.
Jason Garrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2012, 09:38 PM   #146
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Re: GoPro Protune

A question for Ian Newland or Abe Kislevitz...

I have a Garmin Asus A10 running Android 2.1 or 2.2 - not sure which. Will the Android App work with my phone?
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2012, 10:13 PM   #147
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 319
Re: GoPro Protune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renton Maclachlan View Post
A question for Ian Newland or Abe Kislevitz...

I have a Garmin Asus A10 running Android 2.1 or 2.2 - not sure which. Will the Android App work with my phone?
Know one will really knows until the app is released and people try on their various hardware. We have users devising ways to wifi connect to a PC, tablet or smartphone on our forum without the GoPro App but that doesn't answer your question. See link below.

GoProUser.freeforums.org • View topic - Howto Livestream to PC and view files on PC/Smartphone!
Ian Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2012, 03:16 PM   #148
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
Re: GoPro Protune

Just a quick update, no clue what has changed but just did a new little batch of test clips in 24p with Protune and all is right with the world. Played back fine in VLC and on the timeline. Happy me.

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 02:14 PM   #149
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 699
Re: GoPro Protune

I've just updated the firmware, very easy no trouble but with Protunes enabled I can no longer get 720 at 25 or 50FPS, I'm in UK PAL land.
Is it the case that those are not available now (unless I turn Protunes off) or am I missing something?
George Kilroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 02:19 PM   #150
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro Protune

yes, it is not supported (yet)
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network