GoPro Protune - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Micro / POV Camera Systems
Covering the GoPro HERO and other small Point-Of-View video cameras.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 4th, 2012, 08:20 AM   #31
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa
Posts: 220
Re: GoPro Protune

I emailed Gopro back in July and the reply said it should be available in "a few weeks" so this seems to be the standard reply. The new Sony with steadyshot is a very tempting alternative, but I prefer the Gopro form factor. I bought my Hero2 after the NAB announcement thinking I would have the protune by now. Very disappointing when a company announces something and endlessly delay's the release with vague answers to a simple question. It was showed off months ago and its still vaporware.
Chris Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2012, 08:44 AM   #32
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: williamsport, pa
Posts: 604
Re: GoPro Protune

I too prefer the flatter, boxy form of the Hero2 but I must say, if Sony's audio is acceptable (not great, but just decent), I think I'll figure out how to deal with its elongated form.
GP had told me the "end of August."
Lynne Whelden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2012, 04:30 AM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aachen, Germany and Las Vegas NV
Posts: 107
Re: GoPro Protune

Will the Protune Update just be for the Hero2 or also for the older Hero1 Versions?
Swen Goebbels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2012, 05:09 AM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upper Franconia, Germany
Posts: 60
Re: GoPro Protune

According to the GoPro press release, its Hero2 only.
Bernd Eller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2012, 03:11 AM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aachen, Germany and Las Vegas NV
Posts: 107
Re: GoPro Protune

Thank you Bernd,
yes it's just for the HD2. Yesterday I talked to a GoPro employee at the IBC and they told me the processor of the HD1 is too slow for this (didn't know that the HD2 has a newer processor). Furthermore he said that Protune will be available in a month.... let's wait and see ;-)
Swen Goebbels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2012, 11:39 AM   #36
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Re: GoPro Protune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swen Goebbels View Post
(didn't know that the HD2 has a newer processor).
Well Swen, you might nave known if you had read my article on the main page. <wink>

GoPro… Going even more Pro at DVInfo.net

I am frustrated also with GoPro. We were also supposed to be getting the smart phone apps about now for remote control and live monitoring of HD2.

Meanwhile, they keep posting and emailing 'video of the week' stuff.

This type of over promise and under deliver is going to cost them customers in the long run.

regards,

Greg B.
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2012, 01:15 PM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aachen, Germany and Las Vegas NV
Posts: 107
Re: GoPro Protune

Greg you're right I didn't read the complete article. However, I can understand that people are frustrated by waiting so long for the updates.

If GoPro want me to change my HD1 cameras to the HD2 Version they should have the smart phone app and ProTune ready. Then I'll buy a few new GoPros, which are a good product!
Swen Goebbels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 07:12 AM   #38
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: williamsport, pa
Posts: 604
Re: GoPro Protune

GoPro has one week to salvage their PR image from the dumpster. They claimed the update would be some time this summer, which ends next Friday. "Coincidentally" that's around the day Sony says they're releasing their Action Cam.
Lynne Whelden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 08:48 AM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Posts: 220
Re: GoPro Protune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post




Meanwhile, they keep posting and emailing 'video of the week' stuff.

This type of over promise and under deliver is going to cost them customers in the long run.

regards,

Greg B.
This is exactly how I feel.

My local Walmart and Target stores are out of stock on the cameras and the accessories are on the clearance shelf.
Kevin Walsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 12:59 PM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upper Franconia, Germany
Posts: 60
Re: GoPro Protune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne Whelden View Post
They claimed the update would be some time this summer, which ends next Friday.
Just received the information from GoPro Germany: Protune will be released in fall 2012.
Bernd Eller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 04:36 PM   #41
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 280
Re: GoPro Protune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernd Eller View Post
Just received the information from GoPro Germany: Protune will be released in fall 2012.
We should expect it in Spring 2013 then.
Matt Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 05:25 PM   #42
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: williamsport, pa
Posts: 604
Re: GoPro Protune

By then the Sony Action Cam will have taken over the market.
Lynne Whelden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 12:35 AM   #43
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upper Franconia, Germany
Posts: 60
Re: GoPro Protune

If only Sony hadn't left out all 50Hz formats! The HDR-AS15 has no 25p, no 50p and that's the deal breaker for me. Moreover, the AS10 which I would prefer is not available here at all. But nevertheless I am very curious to see a lot of real life tests and hopefully some day we get a firmware update to make the camera a serious GoPro competitor even outside the USA or Japan.
Bernd Eller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2012, 11:08 PM   #44
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Re: GoPro Protune

Anyone heard any further info on when the Protune firmware will be available? It's several months overdue, which seems ludicrious considering they showed demo footage previously, so must've had working prototypes several months ago.

My optimistic side keeps telling me that maybe they have delayed the firmware release as they are implementing either 1080p60 or 720p120 - but my more realistic side can't see that happening.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2012, 11:56 PM   #45
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro Protune

few days ago gopro support cannot sayed estimated release date,
even unofficial :(
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network