Upgrading to Hero 3 Black at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Micro / POV Camera Systems
Covering the GoPro HERO and other small Point-Of-View video cameras.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2013, 06:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wylam
Posts: 42
Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

Guys,

I currently have a Hero 2 and am considering the upgrade to HD3 Black for a number of reasons but Im reading so many bad reviews about locking up and the WiFi packing in.

Are they really this bad and should I trade up or stay put for now until things are sorted?

Thanks

Alan
Alan Maughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 05:05 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wylam
Posts: 42
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

144 views and nobody has an opinion?
Alan Maughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 06:18 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: c Australia
Posts: 234
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

only had my black for a couple of days. No freezes or crashes so far. Out of the box I went to the website to download any software updates but it said it was already on the latest version. I haven't used protune yet. The wifi seems ok, chews the battery though.
Damian Heffernan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 09:47 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I've exchanged 2 already. Number 3 is going back for exchange from the factory. They've all worked, but the freezing problem is widespread.
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 10:58 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 160
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I got one last week, used a couple of times, it froze when it was plugged to the computer while charging. I had to take the battery off, then it worked. Haven't used much yet since then.
Erick Munari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2013, 02:30 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wylam
Posts: 42
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I cant say the comments so far have inspired me to make a purchase - how can GoPro get things so wrong and not resolve these issues quickly????

Crazy.
Alan Maughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2013, 03:43 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I bought one the other week. So far so good. Took it out on the boat yesterday to do some test shots and it worked just fine.

Battery life is a bit weird. I was able to get it to run continuously for 4.5 hours with a second battery. But now I'm just getting 2.5 hours. Same batteries. No extensive charge cycles.

I know WiFi can shorten battery life. But the endurance tests were conducted with WiFi turned off.
__________________
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2013, 12:23 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bucharest Romania
Posts: 221
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I have two Blacks and use them with protune and 2,7 K.
Used them on three jobs and didn't fail so far.
I used them both with RC remote and Iphone app.
I use them with the additional battery. I never charge from computer.
Charging the additional battery attached to the camera doesn't work I have to charge it separately.
The three jobs where on car races and winter olympic sports.
Eugen Oprina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2013, 06:39 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Sensui View Post
...Battery life is a bit weird. I was able to get it to run continuously for 4.5 hours with a second battery. But now I'm just getting 2.5 hours. Same batteries. No extensive charge cycles....
I see the battery pack is getting thrashed on the GoPro website reviews. I realize the freezing was firmware but has the battery life settled down? I would think the battery pac easier to make fast battery changes. You OK with just swapping batteries?
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 03:27 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Palm Harbor, Florida
Posts: 102
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I've had my Hero 3 for two days and its locked up twice. Had to remove the battery both times to fix it. I updated the firmware today. Hopefully, no more lock ups.
Michael Sims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 09:42 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rossland, British Columbia
Posts: 966
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I haven't had a single lock up since updating the software. Only done a couple of hours with it since updating but so far so good.
Bryce
__________________
There's never enough hours in the day!
Bryce Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 10:25 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 230
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I have 2 Blacks, 2 HD2 and HD1 - I only mention this because I use all three and there are differences. However - sticking to the question, I have only had one lockup issue in a month. Battery life sucks, but what I learned is that the Backpacks that I have for the HD & HD2 work on the 3 as well as the LCD.

I use the Battery BackPac when I am using the WiFi and I have yet to run out of battery during a shoot.

The only real issue I have is with Adobe CS6 - when I am shooting 120fps - adobe only recognizes 60fps - so the audio is twice as fast. If audio is nit needed - then your good.

Most everything I shoot is action sports - so I have not experienced with the higher resolutions yet.
__________________
Chris Sgaraglino
Widow Creek
Chris Sgaraglino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2013, 07:51 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Richmond, Va, Usa
Posts: 19
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I had a mystery lock up the other day when getting data off and charging. I'm pretty sure though I have damaged mine with excessive heating due to filming in a glass studio. I cannot afford a camera that I can use different lenses with so getting up close and personal to a subject that is radiating hundreds of degrees of heat probably is not doing it any favors. I film at 2k@30fps

My theory about the freezing is excessive heat build up. My camera will shut off when after filming glass blowing. I put it in a freezer for about 10mins and it starts back up again.

I had no problems with the camera locking up while it was mounted to my canoe this past winter filming numerous whitewater runs. Just battery life issues that seem better in the glass studio.

My perception is that the small form factor makes the gopro3 excessively vulnerable to huge temperature issues.

Soon I am going to modify a water proof case to let me connect a solar panel to it. I am going to do a timelapse until the memory card is filled or the camera shuts off. I imagine it will freeze because of the higher late spring temperatures.
John Forsythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2013, 11:05 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 425
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Sgaraglino View Post
The only real issue I have is with Adobe CS6 - when I am shooting 120fps - adobe only recognizes 60fps - so the audio is twice as fast. If audio is nit needed - then your good.
Have you tried right clicking on the clip in the project panel, click on modify, then interpret footage and then where it says assume frame rate, change the frame rate to 120. I've never tried it, just an idea.
Rob Morse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2013, 11:07 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 425
Re: Upgrading to Hero 3 Black

I've only used my Hero 3 on 2 projects but had no issues at all.
Rob Morse is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network