GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Micro / POV Camera Systems
Covering the GoPro HERO and other small Point-Of-View video cameras.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2013, 08:03 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

I've been having a persistent problem with my GoPro Wi-Fi and iPhone app. This happens for both my Hero3 white edition with built-in Wi-Fi and the Hero 2 with the Wi-Fi BacPac added.

The problem is always the same. I test the GoPros at home with Wi-Fi and the app, and it works fine, no issues at all, other than the rigmarole needed to switch between 2 cameras when using the app. But out and about when shooting, it's not as reliable.

A lot of the time I connect to the Wi-Fi on the device easily, with a strong signal, I start the app on the iPhone and it connects to the camera quickly, but if you try to use the preview option to help frame your shots.... it just sits at "Starting Preview" forever. It doesn't matter whether I am 2 inches from the camera or 20 feet, it will never start the preview when this happens.

I thought it was maybe the environment; one time it was amongst a crowd, and I could imagine a room full of cellphones would disrupt it. But I've had it literally in the middle of nowhere, with the camera mounted (say) in between the rails of a railway line to get a shot of a train passing over it, or clamped to the train itself. There's no electronics or other wireless anywhere around. To repeat, I can hold the phone literally two inches off the camera and there's no preview. Try it again an hour later and it's fine.

Then other times, it just works. In the same position, with no obvious differences in environment.

All firmware is up to date, on bacpacs and cameras. Is the Wi-Fi this ropey for everyone, or am I just very unlucky?
__________________
Irish Railway Videos on Youtube
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2013, 08:39 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sætre, Norway
Posts: 27
Re: GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

Had this problem also, but mainly if I don't use the cam for some days. Put it away in working order then when time comes too use it, no more connection. Very frustrating.
Cedric Cornell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2013, 12:19 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Re: GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

I had lots of issues with my Hero 3 Black edition when I first got it. I thought it was because I was using it in low temperatures skiing. Eventually gave up on using the remote while skiing and just manually switched on and off. This always worked fine. Since the last update to the firmware things seem to work Ok from the remote . It switches on and off OK from my Android tablet or phone too. Will have to wait and see if the problem of low temperatures while skiing brings them all back. Will have to wait a few months for that though!!!

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2013, 02:55 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

Thanks guys, it looks like I'm not alone.

My temperatures are not low, but not high. This has happened indoors or out, in all temperatures, though none of them could be classed as extreme hot or cold.

Just to clarify, I can connect OK, I can turn on or off OK, I can change settings OK, I can start/stop recording OK. But the problem is specifically the preview, it just doesn't work - and for me, it's important to try to get best framing.

Maybe it's because I'm not just strapping it to the helmet/ski/wrist/handlebars of typical beautiful extreme spots people with designed stubble that GoPro specialises in, I'm trying to get other subjects - so I can't just "point and hope", I need better framing.
__________________
Irish Railway Videos on Youtube
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2013, 10:55 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Re: GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

Yep, having problems with Wi-Fi, with two Hero3 Blacks in an airplane - one on the wing and one inside. I see two problems - sometimes the camera will stop recording without a command, and sometimes it loses Wi-Fi communication.

But I am getting better results with the Wi-Fi Remote than with the smartphone/tablet app. In my case I only need the GoPro App for initial alignment, and now I switch to two separate Wi-Fi Remotes for control in flight. It is not perfect; today I batted 6 for 6 with the wing camera, but only 6 for 7 with the cabin camera - it finally lost Wi-Fi communication.

I'm looking for ideas to up the reliability.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2013, 06:15 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Re: GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

Are you using the latest firmware? I had a lot of problems with the original firmware in cold weather skiing and gave up using the remote over the winter. I have only tested the camera rather than used for shooting since installing the April firmware release and have not made it fail yet. Will see how it performs when skiing comes around again.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2013, 12:03 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Re: GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Are you using the latest firmware? I had a lot of problems with the original firmware in cold weather skiing and gave up using the remote over the winter. I have only tested the camera rather than used for shooting since installing the April firmware release and have not made it fail yet. Will see how it performs when skiing comes around again.
Well I was. And the Wi-Fi performance continued to get worse; it would work with the GoPro App, but almost not at all with the Wi-Fi remote - even after resetting several times.

But good news - GoPro just released new firmware TODAY. I loaded it on the troublesome camera and Wi-Fi seems to be working perfectly. Hopefully this fixes my problems.

The new firmware version is HD3.03.03.00. The Wi-Fi version is 3.4.2.18. This is the new firmware that goes with the upcoming new App version.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2013, 06:41 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Re: GoPro Wi-Fi just doesn't work sometimes

I also found that using the camera connected to the PC for firmware update did not work well so now use the manual method which is a lot more successful.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network