sick of gopro software at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Micro / POV Camera Systems
Covering the GoPro HERO and other small Point-Of-View video cameras.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2014, 11:17 PM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Coast - NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,364
sick of gopro software

Why I tried to update I don't know, wasn't thinking.

Every time it uninstalls the previous version it also removed dll's needed by other programs - for me - it stuffs up Corel DVD maker,

Error: 'No DLLS were Found in the Waterfall Procedure' Occurs After Installing GoPro Studio

it's a giant pain and though I've paid for the software I just as soon chuck the camera in the bin
Cheers - Paul M. :
Paul Mailath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 03:09 PM   #2
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,737
Re: sick of gopro software

I'm afraid a lot of people seem to have that problem, including me. I uninstalled it then had to go into recovery to the previous last windows rollback to recover the file to where it belongs.

To be honest, just about everything you can do in the GoPro software, you can do on other programmes. If you already have a basic editing programme then Mercalli ( the basic version) or ProDrenalin by the same company can de-fisheye and stabilise the footage to drop into your editor. I use Magix Movie Edit Pro 2013 for editing which takes Protune footage directly with no problem.

Roger Gunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2014, 06:33 PM   #3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pointe-Claire, Quebec
Posts: 2
Re: sick of gopro software

I have a different problem but just as frustrating. I recently bought the GoPro Blk3+ because of the ProTune possibilities. But the free software does not deliver. So I cannot use the full potential of the camera.

First the software won't even install properly on Windows 8.1 and even though I can get it to start by hunting for the executable on the drive, it will not render anything, it just freeze...

I had no hint or help from GoPro about this.

Might as well buy any other cheaper camera !
Michel Poirier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 06:06 AM   #4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Coast - NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,364
Re: sick of gopro software

just be ready for dramas when you try to uninstall the gopro software! make a restore point first and then check all your other software - it has a habit of removing extra dll's
Cheers - Paul M. :
Paul Mailath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2014, 11:16 PM   #5
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 148
Re: sick of gopro software

Yeah, that trash borked my Edius install. It is truly evil. And the useless company has never delivered on their promise to have more than one camera on the same wi-fi network, forcing me to exit the software, go to my tablet's settings and change from the "Drums" network to the "Keys" network.

I have grown to hate my GoPros and really want another company to take their place.

I need:
  • Reliable WI-Fi, with the ability to put several cameras on the same Wi-Fi network.
  • Software that supports multi-camera display. I don't need to see multiple cameras at the same time, but I need to easily change cameras.
  • A microphone attenuator.
  • Manual white balance.
  • Manual exposure control.
Chris DeVoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2014, 07:03 AM   #6
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 771
Re: sick of gopro software

Have had similar problems in the past with other software uninstall problems. All those problems are now a thing of the past since I installed Revo Uninstaller Pro. Sounds like an ad doesn’t it!

Revo Uninstaller Pro - Uninstall Software, Remove Programs easily, Forced Uninstall, Leftovers Uninstaller

No connection with them but I do like the software as I seem to be forever installing and uninstalling video / audio encoders looking for the quickest and the best.

You can use it when you install any software. It monitors every little bit installed and builds a log of the install, in the process it also does a registry backup and creates a restore point. When you uninstall it uses the installed programs uninstaller. It then pulls up its install log relating to that program and gives you the option to scan the system to see if any shrapnel was missed by the installed programs uninstaller. 99% of the time it finds heaps of left over junk. Should another program suddenly have problems you always have a registry and restore point relating to that bit of software to fall back on. So far so good.

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Christopher Young is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2014, 08:08 AM   #7
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Coast - NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,364
Re: sick of gopro software

that looks pretty good - I might give Revo a try
Cheers - Paul M. :
Paul Mailath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2014, 10:27 AM   #8
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ithaca, NY (USA)
Posts: 40
Re: sick of gopro software

After about a week messing around with gopro studio 2.0.1 and the proversion trial, with both continuously hanging on conversion to cineform, went back to gopro studio 1.3 and all is good. The only reason for me to use it is for the gopro protune LUT and conversion to cineform. Iff I could convert to cineform in another program and iff they made the LUT available so that we can correct the protune profile in say premiere or resolve, that would make life a lot easier. At this point not sure if just applying a LUT in premiere directly to the mp4 .mov files involves a quality hit...the protune correction in studio obviously does some color grading, but denoising and sharpening as well. And I'm not sure if there's some metadata in those protune files that becomes readable on decompressing to cineform (or whether it's even dynamic? is that possible?)...

Just want to get to normal rec709 from protune without messing around too much with speedgrade or lumetri...

Apparently one guy got this method to studio, then open in premiere, apply changes, and they're automatically forwarded to premiere...unfortunately for me (you could save the look by then forwarding to speedgrade) that method kept crashing. Still, would be one way to get the LUT and adjustments saved since gopro won't make them public...
Arne Pursell is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network