gopro3+ Silver no protune? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Micro / POV Camera Systems
Covering the GoPro HERO and other small Point-Of-View video cameras.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2014, 11:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 105
gopro3+ Silver no protune?

I discover that gopro 3+ silver not be enable for protune, why?
Carlo Macchiavello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2014, 12:12 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LIncolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,051
Re: gopro3+ Silver no protune?

I have a GoPro 3 silver + and it is enabled for protune. Are you sure you have it set for the right resolution?

Roger
Roger Gunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2014, 02:32 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 105
Re: gopro3+ Silver no protune?

Hi Roger,
i just check on gopro.com website and they told that protune is enable only under

HERO4
HERO3+ Black
HERO3: Black Edition
HERO3: Silver Edition

could tell me the right setup to see protune profile, please?
Carlo Macchiavello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2014, 05:04 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LIncolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,051
Re: gopro3+ Silver no protune?

Hi Carlo,

I just set up my GoPro and went into the settings. Under the capture settings, there are four changeable settings,
Upside down
Spot Meter
Looping Video
Protune

I thought that the resolution setting affects whether protune is available or not, but it works with all resolutions. Being in the UK, I have the GoPro set to PAL and usually use 25fps, but protune also works at 50fps. I don't particularly like using protune so rarely switch it on, but it is definitely enabled on the camera.

Maybe GoPro have disabled it on the newer batch of Hero3 Silver+ although that seems unlikely. i bought mine exactly a year ago on a trip to Florida and my son who was with me bought one as well. He also has protune enabled on his, as we were discussing it recently.

The only other possibility is that we were sold the non plus version in a plus box, although that seems unlikely. I'm not sure how to tell the difference as it just says Hero 3 on the body and I have long since lost the paperwork. I also fail to understand why the more expensive model would be marketed without a feature that is on the cheaper version.

Roger
Roger Gunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2014, 06:38 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LIncolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,051
Re: gopro3+ Silver no protune?

OK, I have got to the bottom of this after talking with my son. He still has his original paperwork and it seems that we have a GoPro Hero3 Silver Plus package, not the GoPro Hero3+ Silver camera. The package that we have seems to have been a limited offer bonus pack on the H3 Silver.

The camera came with a large amount of adapters and mounts for every conceivable situation, but appears to be a Silver not a +Silver. That would explain why I have the Protune option, but not why the + version doesn't!

Sorry to give you the wrong information, but at least clears it up.

Roger
Roger Gunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2014, 06:45 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 105
Re: gopro3+ Silver no protune?

Thanks a lot Roger, you are very kind to check it.
best wishes for the week end :-D
Carlo Macchiavello is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Micro / POV Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network