Sanyo HD1000 and Macs at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > (MPG4) Sanyo Xacti (all models)

(MPG4) Sanyo Xacti (all models)
A compact 720p MPEG4 digital media camera recording to SD Card.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 26th, 2007, 06:34 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Sanyo HD1000 and Macs

I am considering this camera and was wondering what the latest info is on the Mac workflow. Last I heard, every mode but the Full 1080/60i HD worked, is that still the case? Also, how does Final Cut and iMovie handle the 720/60P mode?

- Thanks
Steve Benner is offline  
Old December 26th, 2007, 10:24 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 234
Haven't personally tried this as I don't have a HD1000, but they're supposed to be fixes for the Quicktime codec problem:

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23875/avc1decoder

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=6102255
Dave Eaton is offline  
Old December 28th, 2007, 10:50 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
I can vouch it DEFINITELY works with full 1080 mode now with QT with that revised avc1 decoder!
No more 1080i problems at all!!!!!

(720P modes always worked!)

FCP and FCX both edit the mpeg 4 files no problem at all!!!!
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old January 2nd, 2008, 05:01 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Nunez View Post
I can vouch it DEFINITELY works with full 1080 mode now with QT with that revised avc1 decoder!
No more 1080i problems at all!!!!!

(720P modes always worked!)

FCP and FCX both edit the mpeg 4 files no problem at all!!!!
So, you all you do is install that convertor and Quicktime will recognize and playback the files? And there are no issues at all in FCP?
Steve Benner is offline  
Old January 2nd, 2008, 05:09 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
The new avc/decoder just fixed the issue with playback of 1080i files which produced green screens on Macs- with the new decoder it works perfectly!!!

Yes the files are 100% editable using FCP and FCE4HD (tried both) and works right out of the camera! No trans-coding is necessary. The only slight hindrance is the audio needs to be rendered as it's not in the correct form for the avc preset- but it literally flies in render- only a few seconds to do a minute of audio in the time line (or you can just change the seq preset to match the weird audio setting.)

So far this camera is producing better results than the JVC Everio HD7.....I just wish it had exposure lock and a few other features....but nice as a sub $700 HD camcorder.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old January 8th, 2008, 11:15 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bayreuth Germany
Posts: 19
Steve: i still have problems with avc1 decoder! All frames are double! Don't you have this error?
Ralph Schoberth is offline  
Old January 9th, 2008, 06:54 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
No trouble here- are you certain you installed it in the correct place?
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old January 9th, 2008, 10:54 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bayreuth Germany
Posts: 19
Yes its in the quicktimefolder and the codec itself works. Only if i go pic by pic through the movie all frames are double. Also in final cut each twice frame is greenish. All that happens only to 1080i stuff! 720p is fine.
Ralph Schoberth is offline  
Old January 13th, 2008, 11:23 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 4
non-Intel Macs?

I thought I had heard that video from some of the newer video codecs (like AVCHD) can't be edited using FCE/iMovie on pre-Intel-chip Macs. In the talk of HD1000 and Macs, were any of these pre-Intel models? Thanks.
Chris Hall is offline  
Old January 13th, 2008, 12:10 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Sorry I use a Macpro which is Intel.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old January 13th, 2008, 05:11 PM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 4
Thanks

Thanks, Steve. I realized I should be able to figure it out by checking the Mac software specs. I have an Intel MacBook Pro but I was thinking of a friend who might share the camera, who has an pre-Intel MacBook.
Chris Hall is offline  
Old January 13th, 2008, 05:20 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Well since the footage doesn't conform to the AVCHD spec- perhaps your friend will have no issues editing....let's hope!
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old February 10th, 2008, 06:58 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 10
Thanks for that, Steve. I purchased the HD1000 last week and immediately ran into the green screen problem with Full HD. The pictures are excellent for such a small device.
Rob Weaver is offline  
Old February 10th, 2008, 07:10 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Rob, did you put the new decoder in the Quicktime folder- if you do- it'll resolve the green screen you get with full HD clips.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old February 10th, 2008, 07:39 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 10
Hi Steve - No, I'll download and install tonight (the Mac is my home machine; at work we use Windows).
Rob Weaver is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > (MPG4) Sanyo Xacti (all models)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network