hd1a and final cut pro not working together. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > (MPG4) Sanyo Xacti (all models)

(MPG4) Sanyo Xacti (all models)
A compact 720p MPEG4 digital media camera recording to SD Card.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 26th, 2006, 06:18 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
hd1a and final cut pro not working together.

Greetings all

I am trying to get some Hd1a video into FCP.

I have not been able to get FCP to see the cam, but i was able to drag and drop the footage from my external HD into FCP.

Then FCP refused to work iwth the footage unless it was rendered!

8 hours later after rendering, FCP still refused to function and merely beachballs till its frozen when any attempt is made to edit.

Does anyone knwo a workflow to get this cam working with FCP.

It works fine in iMovie except for the uhh crashes! every ten or 20 minutes.
Say! thats not a good sign either is it?
Luc Meisel is offline  
Old October 26th, 2006, 10:17 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kelowna, Canada
Posts: 148
Have you tried conversion with MP42AVI prior to import?
Chris Wells is offline  
Old October 27th, 2006, 08:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Hi thanks for the reply.

i havent tried to convert it,

What would I convert it to?
and why?

it imports into iMovie.
Why do it need rendering?

thanks for the help
Luc Meisel is offline  
Old October 29th, 2006, 05:26 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
You can't use the files straight out of the camera.....use MpegStreamclip and export them out to HDV- then you can just use the same HDV preset in FCP.

You can then delete the original files and keep the HDV versions for editing.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old October 29th, 2006, 05:42 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
mmm interesting...

I tried directly importing them into iMovie and got so much artifacts, not at all
like what is the orginal is. I dragged the clips onto my external drive then imported into iMovie...

That didnt work :)

So I have to convert them to HDV but doest that destroy the 720p to go to HDV which is 60i, interlaced..

what work flow do you use?

Thanks for the help.

I hope that app works for Mac,

does this have something to do with the whole MUX vs UNMUXED situation?
Luc Meisel is offline  
Old October 29th, 2006, 06:54 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Actually you can export to 720P HDV. Anytime you convert there will be some loss of quality- but MpegStreamclip is really superb- just export stills from the raw footage and compare to the newly exported HDV clip and compare.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old October 29th, 2006, 08:20 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
I exported as 1280x720 de interlaced with apple dv 720p compression, in Streamclip.

what setting to you use, there are SO many different ones to choose from.

The video looks good but there is still the red line of render that needs to be done for scrubbing to work in FCP.

I dont think that was a problem in iMovie.

Feels so stange that iMovie handles this but not FCP.

Thanks for the help also! :P
Luc Meisel is offline  
Old October 29th, 2006, 08:33 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
If FCP throws a red line above the footage when you've dropped it into the timeline- then either the sequence settings are off or you've exported it to non-standard 720P HDV format.

Once you've got both set right- editing it will be a breeze and you'll have the full power of FCP with you- allot better than iMovie. It's worth the hassell to get it sorted out...let us know how you like it.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old October 29th, 2006, 08:39 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Hey steve

thanks again for the very helpful tips.

Your website is amazing and I know you hear that often.

You are a true artist.

I was a storyboard artist and used to work for comic companies.

before moving onto scriptwriting and now a hopeful director and producer who is starting his own production company.

You every do any large matte painting or such stuff?

i will try out a few setting, if you see any websites that specify the exact settings, let me know that would be more useful than hunting through trials and error.
Luc Meisel is offline  
Old October 29th, 2006, 08:45 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Your too kind thanks...just trying to help out a fellow video enthusiast.

I don't have your camera but did use MpegStreamclip to get my ole Everio MC500's .mod files into a standard DV format and I know there's HDV export options- so getting your footage into a standard HDV complaint format should pose no problem. Keep at it and let us know how it goes.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old December 21st, 2006, 10:30 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lake Placid, NY
Posts: 5
Final Cut Pro Works Great

I have been using Final Cut Pro for years. I recently picked up the HD1A and started editing in FCP.

You can drag movies from your hard drive into your project. You can view them in the viewer, but then you'll notice that FCP wants to render your audio and video before you can edit it in the canvas. I have found a way to not have to do this and to work natively with the XACTI's video.

If you right-click (or control-click if you have a 1 button mouse) on the movie sequence, then select settings, you get a window to open up that allows you to change the project settings. For frame size, choose HDTV 720p. For pixel aspect ratio, choose square. For compressor, choose MPEG-4 Video. Leave the rest of the settings alone.

When you press OK, you will notice that any video you work with now does not have to be rendered, as it is already in the correct format.

Later on, when you want to export, you can export in whatever format you want.

Editing in the way mentioned above causes no quality loss before you edit. Nice, eh?
Todd Pinsonneault is offline  
Old December 22nd, 2006, 11:30 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
So you can edit the MP4 format in FCP natively? That's amazing! I wonder if you can do the same with AVCHD!
Chris Harris is offline  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 09:07 AM   #13
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
Can you edit natively using Final Cut Express?

Or is Final Cut Pro required?

Jerry Jones
http://www.jonesgroup.net
Jerry Jones is offline  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 10:47 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lake Placid, NY
Posts: 5
Express

I was wrong. Guess final cut pro is required.

Last edited by Todd Pinsonneault; December 24th, 2006 at 09:20 AM.
Todd Pinsonneault is offline  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 06:26 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 8
Sadly FCE doesn't support MPEG4 as a compressor for sequences and only has a subset of those available in FCP so all HD1 clips need to be rendered once they are part of a sequence. You can view your HD1 clips without rendering in the viewer and select the bits of the clips you want to keep and drag them into the sequence but once you want to take a look at the final product you'll need to render. It's the only feature of FCP I would dearly like in FCE, but not so much I'd pay an extra $1000 for it. If I was working on really large projects I could justify it but it's just a hobby for me and my iMac does a pretty good job of rendering when required.
Scott Weston is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > (MPG4) Sanyo Xacti (all models)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network