NewBlue Stabilizer - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > NewBlueFX plug-ins

NewBlueFX plug-ins
Stabilzer, blends, effects and more for Mac & PC editors.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2010, 08:34 AM   #16
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Troy, another update should be out within the next few days. Let's see if that version resolves your issues.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 04:16 PM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
this better than deshaker? i don't mind spending the $ if it's WAY WAY better. i know it's probably easier to do than deshaker.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 05:24 PM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
I also have Mercalli and I'm interested in how it compares to NewBlue's stabilizer. Mercalli has a number of presets that have descriptive names that simplify the process of selecting the correct one. More knowledgeable users can also adjust the various settings to achieve whatever they wish.

Does NewBlue's stabilizer have a users guide to help understand the settings and how to apply them?
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 08:28 PM   #19
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The "manual" for the NewBlue stabilizer is the help file. You can always download the trial and give it a test run. Then you can tell us how YOU think the different options compare.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2010, 11:44 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky - USA
Posts: 552
Erik, your footage looks better than most I have seen using NewBlue. Is it possible to post a clip from the first sample in full frame without the comparison?

Mike, I looked over the forum link you posted and it looks like there is little consensus between the comparisons but a strong leaning toward deshaker... What do you guys think? Is this a $100 lemon that loses to a free script or a worthwhile tool in the toolbox?

I am on the fence and would really like some thoughts on this. I have a friend/client I am compiling some home videos for and the footage is pretty rocky...

Thanks!
__________________
3x-HD1000u - Ikan 8000HD- custom i7 PC - Vegas Pro 13 and 11 64 bit - Premiere Pro CS4 - and a whole mess of other equipment...
Bryan Daugherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2010, 12:16 PM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I am a fan of Deshaker. But you have to jump through some hoops to use it, and you need to spend some time to learn it. These other tools are plug and play, with a nice GUI. That's worth the money to a lot of folks.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2010, 06:00 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
This is the clip by itself. You can see some edge artifacts when it is fixing some extreme camera motion but nothing you couldn't crop around.

If I was doing this for a finished video I would probably find areas that need work and render them separately so I could use different settings.


This is the original before new blue.

__________________
EX3, Q6600 Quad core PC - Vista 64, Vegas 8.1 64bit, SR11 b-cam
Erik Phairas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 09:24 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky - USA
Posts: 552
Erik - Thank you for taking the time to share it with us fullscreen, for me that helps a lot.

From what I have seen posted here and at the Sony Forum linked earlier it looks like the Deshaker and Mercalli Pro produce better results but also have disadvantages of interface (Deshaker), price (Mercalli Pro), and steeper learning curves (both.) New Blue looks to have a contender that would meet the needs of many but no real silver bullet in any of the three. In my case, I think the client footage is probably too shaky for any of those but I can see how each would help in many cases. Thanks.
__________________
3x-HD1000u - Ikan 8000HD- custom i7 PC - Vegas Pro 13 and 11 64 bit - Premiere Pro CS4 - and a whole mess of other equipment...
Bryan Daugherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 09:29 PM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Mercalli only runs in 32-bit Vegas. NewBlue FX has been good about supporting both 32 and 64 bit Windows. Kudos to them for that.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 10:11 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
It's good for fixing video that is not too bad to begin with. But nothing is going to fix video that is just crazy shaky.

That was my first attempt, If I keep playing with it I'm sure I could get it better. But it is SO nice having it built right into vegas. Just drag it into the timeline and start fixing.
__________________
EX3, Q6600 Quad core PC - Vista 64, Vegas 8.1 64bit, SR11 b-cam
Erik Phairas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 10:21 PM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Phairas View Post
Videos
Thanks for posting these videos showing this stuff used with real videos shot.
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 10:27 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 84
I am getting weird blurry edges around the video occationally. I dont understand.
Any thoughts?
Andy Loos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 10:49 AM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
The reason for the blur is the camera movement when it was shot. Without stabilization, the blur isn't apparent because of the motion. After stabilization, you see it because the motion is removed.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 12:00 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 84
so all I can really do is zoom in on the video to get rid of that blurry edges. right?
Andy Loos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 01:09 PM   #30
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
You can use a faster shutter speed on footage that you plan to stabilize in post. This will reduce the blurring although some people don't like the strobe look that faster shutter speeds cause. The best way is to experiment both ways and see which you prefer.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > NewBlueFX plug-ins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network