Yet another Titler Pro bug... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > NewBlueFX plug-ins

NewBlueFX plug-ins
Stabilzer, blends, effects and more for Mac & PC editors.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 23rd, 2012, 07:51 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Yet another Titler Pro bug...

In Vegas Pro 11 x64 build 521 I was making text-changes to titles using Titler Pro build 111213.

When closing the Vegas project and re-opening it all changes to the text/titles were gone.
Even after pressing ctrl-s. Outstanding.

I have identified the problem. Titler Pro does not mark the Vegas 11 x64 project as "dirty and save before closing" after changing something in Titler Pro.

So, when (1) opening the project/VEG, (2) making changes to titles in TitlerPro, and then (3) closing ..

Vegas DOES NOT SAVE THE PROJECT (EVEN IF PRESSING CTRL-S) because Vegas thinks nothing has changed.

To make Vegas actually save a new VEG-file I have to make another change (example: move an empty event one frame on timeline) to make vegas notice that something has changed and write a new VEG!!!!

Can someone pls verify this, or is it just me...

/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2012, 08:04 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

New Blue confirms...

Quote:
After you have finished making changes to the title, please make sure you CLOSE the Titler dialog box. It appears you need to close the dialog in order for Vegas to see the changes. Also, make sure you SAVE the project before exiting Vegas as the project also does not seem to be set to "dirty" so it won't ask. We are researching why this is the case.
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2012, 06:28 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gloucester UK
Posts: 219
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

Thanks for the information Magnus. I didn't know this and last week had six crashes one morning when trying to use Titler Pro.
Matt Bigwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2012, 02:13 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

A new update for the Vegas Pro 11 Titler Pro bundle is now available. Go to the same download link sent from Sony. The "check for updates" option should also work.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2012, 10:15 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

Ed,
I've downloaded the update from within Vegas Pro 11, but when I try to install it, it asks for my activation number. I've pasted the original number in, but it won't procede with activation - and the build number within Vegas hasn't updated either...
..and I was looking forward to some bug-free use of what should be a very good titler app.
__________________
TV Director / Cameraman
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2012, 11:22 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

The serial number entered during installation is provided by Sony. The serial number you previously received should work there. If you're talking about the retail version, that is an entirely different serial number. As you also started a help ticket on this (not sure WHY you posted it here as you started a help ticket) and I have already answered you there, I certainly want to get you going - perhaps send a screenshot to the help ticket of the screen that is not working for you.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2012, 11:36 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

Sorry Ed, a bit of over-reaction on my part.
I've now got it all downloaded and activated, but not without a lot of trouble. There was one space inserted in front of the numbers, so that was corrected. Then it would stop loading halfway through with error messages about some Ogre.dll...
In the end, I just rebooted the system and tried again, this time with great success.
One thing however, I can't seem to get rid of "insert text" on the source monitor pane. Even when I change the text to what I want, it stays in the background - even on render. Any thoughts?
__________________
TV Director / Cameraman
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2012, 12:34 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

Another update...
"insert text" removed (just closed the project and re-opened.
I have to say guys that I'm really blown away by the stability of this update.
I've been trying out 3D effects and movements that I wouldn't have dreamed of trying this morning - with no crashes and everything running as sweet as can be.
Thanks NewBlue!
__________________
TV Director / Cameraman
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2012, 07:41 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Yet another Titler Pro bug...

Thanks, Robin, that's good to hear. We have been working hard on improving stability and killing as many bugs as we can find as well as adding some new features!

One thing to note about installing: Vegas must NOT be running when you run the installer (especially if it was previously installed). Even if you shut down Vegas, it will not always completely shut down. If you open Task Manager, you'll see Vegas is still running. I'm sure that was the issue in your case. The file in question could not be saved because Vegas still had it locked! After the reboot all was fine because Vegas no longer had it locked.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is online now   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > NewBlueFX plug-ins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network