Firewire cables - how long? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 29th, 2003, 09:58 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 106
Firewire cables - how long?

hi there,

I see advertised these firewire cables that are longer than the standard meter or so - sometimes they are listed at tens of meters long - I guess for running camera output direct to disk. Just how long can a firewire cable be before you start having problems with dropouts etc?


David Warrilow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 10:16 PM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
See this thread for answers.
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time:
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network