raid 0 or 5? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 4th, 2007, 01:39 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 263
raid 0 or 5?

My moboard crapped out on me a week ago (socket 939 running an Opteron 175) so when I went to replace it I opted to abandon most of my older tech and go to the intel quadcore and P35 chipset. Picked up an Asus P5K Deluxe board and a Q6600 and have seen a huge increase in speed, particularly with rendering in AE and Vegas 8.
One of the older pieces of tech that I kept was an SI Ide raid controller that I've been using with a couple of 240 gb drives striped in raid 0 for my OS and applications. Since my new moboard supports SATA raid 0,1,5 and 10, I decided to upgrade my hdd situation also. Got 3 additional sata3 500gb drives that I'd like to set up, either as raid 0 or raid 5. Also have 3 other Pata drives for backup, etc, giving me 1.5 TB space in addition to the 3 new Sata drives.
My question to you fine people is whether I'd see a decrease in performance going from my 2 drive pata raid 0 setup to a 3 drive sata raid 5 array...
Or are the new drives plenty fast that I should just use them all separately and forego the raid altogther? My main concern is, obviously, video editing. I know I'll have the data security benefit from the raid 5...
Additionally, is it possible to clone my raid 0 array to a raid 5 array so I don't have to reinstall my OS and apps?
First Take Studios

Last edited by Vincent Croce; October 4th, 2007 at 01:59 PM. Reason: another question
Vincent Croce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2007, 07:23 PM   #2
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
I use raid 0. A minimum of three scsi, but have managed with two eSATA II.
Yes, drives do fail. But not as often as you think. I lose one per year based on daily use. So I replace them after a years use regardless. They're cheap.

If you're worried about avoiding the headache of reinstalling an OS (a different issue), I'd get norton ghost 12 and make a one-time backup to an external usb drive. I've recovered (bare metal) a complete install in less than twenty minutes. The new Ghost 12 comes with an ISO file that will allow you to create a boot CD that houses a recovery OS.
Pete Ferling It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network