Pentium Hyperthreading Technology and Stability at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 9th, 2003, 04:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Pentium Hyperthreading Technology and Stability

To anyone who may have specific knowledge on the P4 with HT technology, do you know how I can overcome the stability issues that are somewhat unresolved with the P4c series chips?

This is my system:

2.8 GHz P4c 800MHz FSB
ABIT IC7 Motherboard
(1 Gig total) 512 Mb paired Cosair Highspeed RAM (400MHz)
Windows XP
Vegas 3.0c
and lots of other insignificant stuff

The latest BIOS have been flashed, and everything has been updated. What can I do to keep my system from periodically rebooting?

Thanks,

Brad
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2003, 04:40 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Probably unrelated, but make sure that you don't have any IRQ conflicts or shared IRQ resources for your PCI and AGP devices. Disable in the BIOS any ports not in use (like USB, serial, parallel, ect...) to free up additional IRQ resources.

I was having random reboots when I was recording multi-track audio in Pro Tools until I got my IRQ's under control.

~Hope this helps.
__________________
Current Equipment | System:
| GL-1 | XP Pro | P4 2.0~1GB Ram~340GB HD Space | ProTools | Premiere 6.5 | MyDVD | Sony DRU-500A DVD burner |
Chris Coen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2003, 05:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Frankfurt Germany
Posts: 104
i have a p4 3,06 HT and it's quite stable. it reboots from time to time too but it isn't that often. i have that from time to time when i capture something with scenalyzer
Elmar Tewes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2003, 09:46 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 276
Say, thanks for the warning! I am on the hunt for a new system, and had been looking at the P4 3ghz, with 1 gig ram in Gateway, Dell, Compaq etc. . . I guess I'll be rethinking. I hate to stick with my old athlon 900, but, until I find a suitable, stable, solution. . . I've spent too much time and money getting my current stable system, to start over again.
__________________
"DOH"!!!
Harry Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2003, 10:14 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Harry,

There is good and bad with just about every option in life, and the P4 with HT technology is very much included in this generalization. While I have taken a significant amount of time building and setting up this system (with a lot of help from gifted friends), it can render like nothing I have ever seen. I was working with some footage this evenning, and even after adding several video fx's and transitions, this machine could render approximately 40-45 frames per second. The reboot problem may have been resolved with some changes tonight to my system's BIOS.

New technology can have it's fair share of problems, but the P4 HT processor is very well suited for video work. I do not regret this upgrade.

If you go this route and need some assistance, just email me, and I'll help you troubleshoot.

Brad
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 07:59 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
What kind of power supply do you have? Some instabalities might
be due to this.... Or a broken fan.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 08:52 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Rob, good observation. However, I'm running on a stable 400 watt power supply and the fans all look good (any power instability is a result of our local electricity provider and is somewhat regulated by a standard APC battery backup).

I think the problem was in the BIOS default settings. The default allowed for computer controlled variability with the FSB frequency, DRAM to CPU timing ratios, AGP and PCI frequency as well as several other key parameters. Since going in and setting everything manually, I have not had any problems. My conclusion (for the moment) is that computers are just not ready to run themselves - not yet anyway.

My other conclusion, this HT technology is great for all those who hate to wait for rendering. Even my impatient side is impressed to watch video render through the preview window in high speed.
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 10:43 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 358
But is that the HT or the speed of the processor? Have you tried disabling HT in BIOS and running the same renders?

I'm just curious as to what real difference HT actually makes.
Nigel Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 11:05 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Nigel, I had the same question when we built the system.

The fact that the processor runs at 2.8 GHz prior to our future overclocking efforts has a big part to play in the short render times. But to answer you, yes HT does make a difference (at least in a NLE that supports dual processor performance). To actually quantify that difference would be difficult, but estimating from the increased processor usage (nearly 20% increase) and the reduced render time (about the same 20%), I tend to believe that it is significant. I would like to be able to post accurate numbers, but we have not had a chance to do any real benchmark testing.

Brad
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 01:27 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 358
This is interesting, Brad, since I'm building a new edit box, and am considering the value of HT. It would be nice to have some render times from the same project rendered with and without HT enabled in the BIOS. That way, the only difference between the two would, theoretically, be the impact of the 'virtual' second CPU.
Nigel Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 01:34 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
To Harry Settle

For what it's worth, I have the Gateway 700 XL Digital FilmMaker package and it is awesome. Stable, fast and a dream to use with vegas 4.0. I have mine configured for dual monitors. What a convenience tool. Give the Gateway serious consideration. I used an HP Pavilion before but I only had a 256 mghz bus speed which made my monitor playback jittery.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2004, 02:21 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Westfield, IN
Posts: 353
Re: Pentium Hyperthreading Technology and Stability

<<<-- Originally posted by Brad Higerd : To anyone who may have specific knowledge on the P4 with HT technology, do you know how I can overcome the stability issues that are somewhat unresolved with the P4c series chips?

The latest BIOS have been flashed, and everything has been updated. What can I do to keep my system from periodically rebooting?

Thanks,

Brad -->>>
Brad,

I know this is an old thread, but I am having the same problem with my [BRAND NEW!] custom Pentium 4 2.8C system:

2 x 256MB DDR400 (either Kingston ValuRam or generic)
Foxconn 865A01-G-6EKRS motherboard (Intel 865G chipset)
2 x 120GB Western Digital SATA hard drives (8MB buffer)
Windows XP Home Ed., Service Pack 1a
Ulead MediaStudio Pro 6.5 VE (soon upgrading to version 7.01, once the crashes stop -- IF I can get them to stop)
eVGA GeForce FX5200 dual-display video, 128MB (latest Nvidia drivers 5.6.7.2)
350W power supply in CodeGen L-6102 case

After your system reboots, do you receive any "serious error" or "serious problem" message upon startup? Did you have any warning or did your monitor just go black like mine? You can stop the rebooting by right-clicking My Computer and then clicking Properties, the Advanced tab, Startup and Recovery, and then unchecking "Automatically reboot." That wont' stop the errors, but it will display messages to help you troubleshoot the problem. Was your problem ever resolved?

After troubleshooting several days and losing valuable editing time, I gave up and took the machine back to the PC Club franchise that assembled it. Fool that I am, I kept the unstable machine past the store's 7-day refund period, so now the best I can hope for is an obvious hardware failure so the offending component can be replaced under warranty.

The techician today said he doesn't understand why I'm experiencing Windows errors even though he did a 20-hour burn in after building the system. Obviously, "buring in" isn't good enough and doesn't replace real-world use. He suspects defective or incompatible RAM modules. I hope that's all that is causing the problem.

Good luck to you!
Tim Borek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2004, 03:06 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi Brad,

I use several HT computers - many of the overclocke - like this one, a 3.2ghz running 3.5ghz - and I never have any problems.

I recently bought a new motherboard, a MSI Neo2 Pro FisR - and during my hunt for the new mobo I read some articled about the IC7 mb - some of them having stability problems.

The most common reason for self-rebooting is memory timing. Try to set your BIOS options more conservative.

One other thing strikes me: Does the computer reboot during videorender or other CPU intensive work? If so - it could be heat related - many mother motherboards shutsdown/reboots if the CPU gets too warm.

Good luck!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2004, 04:57 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Westfield, IN
Posts: 353
<<<-- Originally posted by Lars Siden : Hi Brad,

The most common reason for self-rebooting is memory timing. Try to set your BIOS options more conservative.

One other thing strikes me: Does the computer reboot during videorender or other CPU intensive work? If so - it could be heat related - many mother motherboards shutsdown/reboots if the CPU gets too warm.

Good luck!

// Lazze -->>>

I don't know if you were talking to me or Brad, but when it was working, my PC would usually render without problems. My first editing project on the new PC went fairly well, but a few days later the restarting/crashing accelerrated from daily to about twice per hour under normal Windows usage; something as simple as changing a Control Panel option could cause an error that reboots the PC. I could do nothing at all, or something as simple as loading a CD into my CD-ROM drive. It seems to happen completely at random. Sickening!
Tim Borek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2004, 09:25 PM   #15
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
I have a non-HT P4 system that does this. My 3.2 Ghz P4 HT system is rock solid with one exception. If I load a previously written rewritable DVD into the Sony burner, it will probably cause a reboot.

But other than that, there are absolutely no stability problems and with the RT system (Canopus DVRexRT) and Edius, it really screams.

ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe motherboard.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network