not enough disk space for copying files? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 18th, 2007, 04:24 AM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
not enough disk space for copying files?

Iím trying to copy files to a new 320Gb external drive (USB connection) from a SATA drive on my PC. Can anyone tell me why three of the clips wonít transfer, with my computer giving me the error message that thereís not enough space on my drive? I noticed that each of the three clips is over 5Gb, but havenít a clue if thatís significant or not. All the other clips totaling 140 Gb transferred.

The error messages told me to free up space on my drive. When I click on my options within the error message it takes me to the control panel. Could it be referring to my system drive? If so, why?

Obviously, Iím really ignorant about how copying works, so would appreciate some insight, please. Thanks!
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 06:04 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Most externals come formatted as FAT32, allowing a maximum file size of 4 GB. Convert the disk to NTSC.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 08:31 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 23
shouldn't that be NTFS? :-)
James Henley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 10:29 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Sorry. Typo. I meant NTSF.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 11:00 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Hmm...this one is already NTFS.
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 11:03 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorinda Norton View Post
Hmm...this one is already NTFS.
Lorinda, what does the drive show for free space? I suggest copying a few at a time to see where the problem may manifest itself, checking free space at the conclusion of each smaller transfer.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 12:09 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorinda Norton View Post
Hmm...this one is already NTFS.
When I got my first external drive I had the same problem. When I found out about the FAT32 NTSF problem, I went to format the drive and it said NTSF. Problem is that that was just the first choice for reformatting. Be sure to check the drive "Properties" to be sure that it actually is formatted NTSF. After formatting, no more problems.

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 12:18 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Thanks, guys. I did what I always do and ran the drive over to my friend's house. Bet he finds out it's something just like you said, Mike, and he'll patiently fix it for me and tell me I'm not an idiot. Same old story... :)
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 04:12 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorinda Norton View Post
Could it be referring to my system drive? If so, why?

YES it could.

Windows stupidly needs scratch disk space to work and may think that it has to copy the file to another spot on the internal drive BEFORE it copies it out to the external.

How much free space do you have on the drive (Windows gets real uppity when it has less than 15-20% free space on a drive and strange things can start to happen that don't always make sense to us mere mortals...)
Tim OBrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 08:30 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Believe it or not, I wondered about such a thing but didnít know how to phrase the question. Thank you for explaining, Tim.

Turns out my situation mirrored Mikeís early experience. Iíd forgotten about having to format, then when I checked its status and saw that ďNTFSĒÖ

Sorry for being so ignorant, guys, and I appreciate all the help.
__________________
Lorinda
Lorinda Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2007, 11:06 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 6
Yep, it would be a good idea to delete some of your files that you have successfully copied over to the hard drive from your pc's hard drive. You need space to be able copy over. So delete at least 5 gigs of space on your main drive, be careful not to delete anything until you have checked all of your files, even open them in their appropriate application to make sure they have not been corrupted.


Jerry
Gingivitis
Jerry Gree is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network