Is RAM backward compatible? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 9th, 2008, 09:06 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Westfield, IN
Posts: 353
Is RAM backward compatible?

My 3.5-year-old editing computer uses DDR400 (PC3200) memory in dual-channel setup. I want to upgrade from 1GB (256MB x 4) to 2GB (1024MB x 2). I'm seeing faster, newer memory selling for half the price of PC3200. Why? Can I, for example, install PC6400 memory and have it still work at 400 MHz?
Tim Borek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 10:17 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 227
Go to and find your machine/motherboard. It will list ALL memory types it can support. If the type is not on the list, it won't work. RAM is so inexpensive now, I only buy new from Kingston and skip any "store specials".
Don Blish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 11:14 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wurzburg, Germany
Posts: 316
...and never buy no-name memory or just the cheapest you can find. Memory quality determines the system stability, if it's not the best quality you won't have a lot of fun when rendering (video editing and rendering stresses the system and ram extremely, you need the best you can get!)
Heiko Saele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 01:30 PM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
DDR2 RAM is not backwards compatible with DDR RAM.

You can run the higher speed memory at slower speeds. Sometimes memory that is rated for a slower speed has better memory latency, which makes a small difference in performance (but not meaningful for video editing applications, where memory latency doesn't mean much).

2- It's possible to test your RAM for errors with programs like Memtest, StressPrime95. I wouldn't necessarily bother... your RAM will probably work. If it doesn't, then your computer will have really weird behaviour and random crashing in which case you'd test your computer and figure out its the RAM and then RMA it.

That being said, brands like Crucial and Kingston can be pretty cheap.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 09:07 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Micron is North Americas largest memory manufacturer.
The below is their online storefront:

Go to the above website and use their System Scanner.
The odds are excellent it will in short order tell you what
memory is compatible with your system and what Micron
has available and at what price.

Also, for what it is worth. After I install new memory, or a new hard drive for that matter, I always 'burn it in' by running test software such memtest on it overnight. It is simply cheap insurance and if there is a problem, you identify it quickly for handling the return/exchange with the vendor.

My 2 cents.

Last edited by Bill Koehler; January 13th, 2008 at 09:08 PM. Reason: Typo
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 05:01 PM   #6
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 59
ya ram is really inexpensive, like just now bought a 1 GB for 30 bucks, go for the upgrade, but make sure your motherboard can handle 2 GB
Cameron Naghibi is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network