Working with a lot of footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 25th, 2008, 01:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 213
Working with a lot of footage

When you are starting a new project in your NLE (ie. Premiere Pro)... and you want to make a clip thats about 10 mins but you have about 3-4 hours of footage to pull your cuts from, what is your general workflow for sifting through that 3-4 hours of footage to find the stuff you want to use?

Do you import all 4 hours of video into your NLE then review each clip and delete the "bad" ones... later sequencing the good ones? Or do you cut out all the fat before you even get to your NLE?

Would love to get your advice or suggestions on what your workflow for this is. Thanks!
Deke Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2008, 02:27 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
I go through each tape manually, marking the in and out points of each scene I want and then hit Batch Capture and walk away for a while. I generally capture about 10 mins of each 1-hour tape.

Once the clips are captured to disc in PPro, it's a pain to have to manually delete anything you don't want. So I try not to capture it in the first place.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2008, 02:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Gold View Post
I go through each tape manually, marking the in and out points of each scene I want and then hit Batch Capture and walk away for a while. I generally capture about 10 mins of each 1-hour tape.

Once the clips are captured to disc in PPro, it's a pain to have to manually delete anything you don't want. So I try not to capture it in the first place.
Adam is absolutely right. Just hit batch capture and let the system do the clearing out for you. Then edit your sequence and deliver. I'm not sure if Premiere does it, but after the editing is done, you can consolidate your project for archiving, a procedure that only keeps the original clips that you've used on the timeline and gets rid of all others. Very useful.
Themis Gyparis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2008, 02:56 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Yes, you simply go to "Create New Trimmed Project" and it gets rid of all the detritus for archiving. But you only do this after you're done, done, done and locked.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network