using mini tv as a preview screen for desktop at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 8th, 2008, 11:26 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 59
using mini tv as a preview screen for desktop

Ok, i got this to work via my laptop's s-video out, but on my desktop's video out this doesn't work and well theres no monitor button on a desktop keyboard, but i know this is possible,help?

BTW i have a HP Media center m8200(Desktop)
and a Compaq Presario C304NR w/RAM upgrade(Laptop)
Cameron Naghibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 11:40 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Cameron.........

I don't know what graphics are on board that desktop.

If you check the back panel where your monitor is connected, check if there are any other connectors on the same plate as the one for the monitor.

You're looking for another DVI connector, or a : VGA, S - video, three component connectors or a single composite connector.

If there are none at all, you're out of luck unless you stick another graphics card in the machine.

Tho' you'll be lucky to find one that has either an s - video or composite which is probably all your screen will accept.

If you find a vga adapter on the back of your machine you're ok as long as your screen will accept vga via an adapter, some do, some don't.

If you find either an s - video or composite then you will probably be ok.

To get it to go you'll need to dive into your machine and enable the second screen in the "display" section of Control Panel or the graphics software itself if it has it's own panel.


Easy.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 05:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 59
Composite-In and s-video out
Cameron Naghibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 06:02 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bellevue, Washington
Posts: 145
It's possible that the S-Video Out on your desktop may need to be activated. Check your video display software under the Control Panel > Display > Display Properties > Settings > Advanced. You should be able to find it out from there.
Doug Okamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 07:50 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Okamoto View Post
It's possible that the S-Video Out on your desktop may need to be activated. Check your video display software under the Control Panel > Display > Display Properties > Settings > Advanced. You should be able to find it out from there.
err cant find anything about it in there nor nvidea settings
Cameron Naghibi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network