Quad Core - ohh, JOY! Q9450@3.4ghz at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2008, 09:07 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Quad Core - ohh, JOY! Q9450@3.4ghz

Hi,

Just upgraded my system from:

AMD Athlon 64 X2(dual core) 4600+ with 4gb mem Vista 64
to
Intel Q9450 Quadcore, overclocked to 3.4ghz(from 2.66) 8gb mem Vista 64

I made some speed tests. I captured 1 minute of Video in DV-AVI and the same video as HDV1080i@25(canon hv20).

Started new project in Prem Pro CS3 - used Adobe Media Encoder to render MPEG2-PAL-DVD HQ Widerscreen. Are you ready for the results?


AMD machine
-------------
DV-AVI -> MPEG2PALDVD 58 seconds
HDV1080i -> MEPG2PALDVD 276 seconds

Intel Quad:
-----------
DV-AVI -> MPEG2PALDVD 19 seconds
HDV1080i -> MPEG2PALDVD 63 seconds

We're talking 430% more power! So go get a Quad, you're worth it!

My new rig:
------------

Gigabyte DQ6 DDR2 X48 Express
Q9450@3.4ghz
8 gb OCZ PC8000 memory
Geforce 8800 GTS 512 G92

No down side? Alas, some programs are singlethreaded and thus won't benefit much. The Q9450 supports SSE4 and have 12mb cache - so even single-minded apps gets a boost!

Why are you still reading - you should be ordering a new CPU :-)

Regards,

LlllAaaaRrrrSsss (quad version)
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 02:43 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
So many "reads" and no reply :-)

I can add a short list of single-minded apps(so far):

DivX - you can enable multithreading - but I only get about 30% on all cores
including DivX converter and DivXAuthor

// Lz
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 03:24 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Lars,

Nice info, thanks for posting your results.

Is your system stable running at 3.4Ghz?

Have you performed a long render, long enough so that the cpu gets a real workout? I ask just in case the cpu gets too hot.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 03:48 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Dan,

Thanks! I've run an eight hour burn-in-stress from SiSoftSandra, 100% cpu usage.

I have a Noctua CPU cooler and the Antec P182 case has 2 120mm fans surrounding the CPU - so the computer is very quiet AND cold!

I belive I could get the machine running 3.6 stable - but I won't push my luck!

The Q9450 is VERY clockable :-)

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 10:53 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
I went from a single 3.2 intel core to a q6600 quad recently and sure, it renders faster but that is not really what matters most to me. My old system did struggle a bit if I opened Premiere/encore and Photoshop simultaneously and everything got somewhat sluggish. That's not the case anymore now, but beside that my quad doesn't help me edit faster :)

I'm actually most happy if my system is stable rather then saving half an hour on rendering a wedding. Since I take a break every 2 hours at least from editing I usually plan my work that my machine renders during that time.

I upgrade my pc every 3 years and never go for the fastest combination as this is a waist of money, buy high end today and already have a mid end system 4 months later.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 11:39 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Noa,

True true! But today the Q9450 is "mid-end" - here in sweden it has the same price as Q6600. But Q6600 doesn't have SSE4 and is still 65nm technology(draws more power and generates more heat).

For me, rendering times are important, because with fast renders I can test 4-5 renders per "short movie" and get the best Quality vs Size. It also gives me a much faster workflow in some situations (like capturing 60min, edit 15min, generate DVD 15min, means I can go from rough DV tape to a "nice" DVD in less than 2 hours).

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 12:26 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 39
Hi Lars,
Great thread. I'm and currently in the process of building a brand new edit suite. $2000.
I also want to run Quad with 8gb of ram pc6400... Just a question. Do you have any other hardware tips for making a superfast suite???
What made you choose that motherboard?

Did you find the better graphics card improves editing or not?

cheers
Blake Raidal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 01:41 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Blake,

I'd decided to go with the X48 chipset - and then there aren't so many choices. The Gigabyte DQ series of motherboards are famous overclocking/stable boards. I didn't want to go DDR3 - so the Gigabyte DQ 6 X48 DDR2 was perfect for me.

The gfx-card doesn't real speed up editing - but its good for games :-)

Quad core is really nice - gives you a very quick and responsive OS + great rendering times.

Good luck!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 01:51 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lauwe Belgium
Posts: 39
Double Xeon vs Quadcore

I am building a new editsuite for HD right now (running CS3 and to be added with cineform Prospect HD)
Motherboard: Supermicro X7DWA-N
Case: Supermicro, 7045A-WTB
Processors: two 5430's
RAM: Will put 8GB to start with
HDD: 4x internal SAS Hitachi's, 320GBs

I believe this is a good alternative to the mentioned quad cores? The 5430 is about 350Euro at the moment...
What would you expect in case of speed compared to the conducted tests ? I hope my new system will be even faster - and unfortunately also more expensive...:-((

Ulli
Ulli Grunow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 04:25 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Ulli,

Your machine will probably be faster - and as you say, alot more expensive. My machine costed 1350 EURO complete(without monitor).

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 06:58 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lauwe Belgium
Posts: 39
Cost comparison

Yeah - there is the price tag for the Server type of machine... will be roughly double in price.
But thanks for the comparison of dual core to quad core using CS3 - may be I should change my dual core to quad core on the current machine as well...

Ulli
Ulli Grunow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 09:24 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lauwe Belgium
Posts: 39
Speed test with my old Pentium D 2,8 Ghz on a Asus P5LD motherbord

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars Siden View Post
Hi,

..............
AMD machine
-------------
DV-AVI -> MPEG2PALDVD 58 seconds
HDV1080i -> MEPG2PALDVD 276 seconds
Hi,
just made a short test with my old Pentium D 2,8 Ghz machine
(2Gb RAM, XP professional SP2, CS3)
exactly 1 min on the CS3 timeline with audio

HDV1080i -> MEPG2PALDVD 247 seconds

So a little faster than the AMD machine, but probably worthwhile to upgrade to quad core as well...

Ulli
Ulli Grunow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 01:40 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
If I were you, I'd go for a Q9450 - save the money and upgrade one more time in 18 months. The top-of-the-line stuff almost never keep its value for more than 8 months...

Anyhow, good luck!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 02:08 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
Just got my Quad 3 weeks ago. 1.5TB drive space, 4GB DDR2, RARRRRRRR

It is a rendering beast!!! Love the quad...
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2008, 07:37 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
I'm looking to upgrade my editing machine: A P4 3.2ghz HT ... Think I should see an improvement?
Yang Wen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network