13 hours of DV footage and 50 gigs of HD space. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 19th, 2003, 11:26 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 64
13 hours of DV footage and 50 gigs of HD space.

I just came back from Junction, TX and shot about 13 hours of DV. I'm planning on turning this into a feature length documentary, but I'm limited by my hard drive space. What would be the most optimal way to go about doing this? This wouldn't be a problem if I had a billion gigs of hard drive space.
Gerald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2003, 11:37 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
capture what you need to keep...

then, with what you DO capture, convert to MPG2 at a high bitrate...

apart from that, get another HDD.
120gb will get you 8hours and 45mins of raw DV
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2003, 04:33 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
I had a similar problem so I gave up and bought a 250 GB external firewire HD for about $400. That's the only solution I'd recommend. Peter's idea is probably the only other possibility, but editing MPEG2 is a pain in the ass.

Maybe you can try to cut as you capture. I.E. after you capture a tape, go through it in an NLE and cut out what you know you don't want and then re-save it as one DV AVI. That should cut it down somewhat.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 04:11 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 64
Thanks. I'm probably going to try Peter's idea. I would love to have a 250 gb external but it's out of my range right now.
Gerald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 05:22 AM   #5
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Gerald,

I'm from Texas...and I can't keep shaking my head and grinning when I see this post. 13 HOURS of footage on Junction, Texas?!?! If you're on the highway and at the "Welcome to Junction" sign, you can't even get your camera out of power save mode before you're already heading out of town.

I'm really interested in hearing what you're doing. Once you get the technical question answered, would you mind telling us more?
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 12:20 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
It should only take you 40 hours or so to log your footage and build a capture list. Then you can capture the footage and get right down to serous editing.

Capturing all 13 hours and then sorting. Ouch. I can log in my easy chair which is much more comfortable than my editing suite.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 03:12 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 64
Well, Texas Tech University has this campus in Junction where Architecture to Agriculture is taught. I went there to learn classical guitar with my cool world renowned professor Dr. Bogle. We went tubing, kayaking, fishing, and more. I actually brought my dv cam on the kayak and got some cool shots. I do dumb things like that every now and then, but some cool shots resulted. I think there is enough great footage to make a comedic eye candy documentary. I'm getting my wisdom teeth taken out tomorrow, bummer :(.
Gerald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 04:32 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 64
I had an idea, tell me if you think it's good or not. I can capture all my footage on some super low bitrate craptastic low res format and edit like that. Once I have my final product blueprint, I will go back and replicate it with the raw full quality dv footage.

Downsizing the footage would take a super long time and be a major pain however.

Sheesh, this is harder than I thought it was going to be.
Gerald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 05:16 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
That's why we make the big bucks.

TANSTAAFL - There ain't no such thing as a free lunch.

Low quality edit with a follow-up high-quality edit is the premise on which a lot of computer-based editing was accomplished before DV and even now. Sometimes they call it off-line and on-lineing. But you need frame-accurate capture to pull that off. And a good EDL. Both of those are missing in today's low-end DV system.

The most efficient way is to log the shots and then load only what you want. That's how the big boys do it.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 05:34 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 64
I bet you need a pretty good computer to edit HD.
Gerald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 09:45 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
ANd an even better and very large SCSI RAID system
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2003, 05:15 PM   #12
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
keep your eye on sales .. i've been seeing the WD 250gig internal HD for $179 after rebates - usually in sunday paper pull out ads - compUSA , best buys, frys seems each week somebody is offering it ..
Don Donatello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2003, 12:00 PM   #13
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Office Depot and CompUSA both had drives on sale last week. I picked up IDE133 160gb drive for $99 (after rebate). You could install it internal or pick up a FireWire enclosure for $50 and go external.

If you can't afford and equipment, follow Mike's advice and just transfer what you need.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2003, 03:36 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Yeah big HDs are the way to go. In a few years we'll have terrabytes for $200. :) If only processor speed would increase so quickly.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2003, 09:43 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 64
Yeah. I think it's time for a new hard drive. Editing with limited space is a PAIN! Wow, this is super frustrating.
Gerald Lee is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network