Why is necessary a capture board? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 25th, 2008, 09:05 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 57
Why is necessary a capture board?

Hi everyone.

Instead of buying a good capture board (matrox etc.), I was wondering of building a great and fast computer, so the question I asked myself: (And I couldn't answer)

Why is necessary a capture board?
Fellipe de Paula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 01:28 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Necessity of a capture board depends on your source video. If you use a camera or deck with firewire, all you need is a firewire card ($10). But if you need to capture analog video, the capture card (plus software) will digitize the video so you can edit it on your computer.

As far as a Matrox card, that one does a lot more, go to their website and read on.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network