Driving me Crazy! Firewire DV Problem. Help! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 21st, 2003, 01:37 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Driving me Crazy! Firewire DV Problem. Help!

I'm going nuts over this and it's costing me so much time and headache. ANY help would be appreciated.

My Firewire card has worked perfect before. Of course I haven't used it in about 2 months prior to finding this problem. And the funny thing is. I am not even sure it's the card. But I have installed a bunch of stuff over the last 2 months so I thought THAT might have to do with the problem. So I re-installed XP thinking it would clear things up. But guess what? It's STILL happening. So I went out and got a NEW IEEE 1394 Card and guess what? It's STILL happening.

Here's the problem....

I just hooked up my long awaited Panasonic DVX-100 via DV Firewire to the computer. I captured some footage off the camera to the computer. THAT went very well and I had no problems.

But then here's the weird part. When trying to "Print to Tape" from Vegas 4.0, it starts to act up. When recording or printing, the screen on the camcorder goes on and off. It will show the video for a second, then turn off, then back on, then turn off, then you see lots of blue screens, then video, then blue and so on.

First I thought it was something to do with the 24p stuff, but it is not. It does this with all my camcorders and it even does it if I'm previewing DV out to an external monitor.

I'm about to throw my computer out the window. It works great on my wife's EMACHINE, but not on mine.

I think it may have to do with some video acceleration or something. I'll be trying to fix it in the mean time.

Thanks!!
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2003, 03:13 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Hello Mark,


First i do not have the same setup as you, but it sounds like we have similar problems..I am using a Panasonic AD-DV200 deck, and like you i have had no problems capturing using Vegas 4.0.. But I do have big problems outputting video to my external monitor through the deck, and Printing to Tape also. I have seen it work maybe 3 times in the past two weeks, but for the most part it sounds very much like your problem.. Sometimes I just get black on the external monitor when i should see video,also sometimes when i print to tape, i get either all black, or video with big digital blocks in the video.. The problem is intermitent and weird.. i have tried using a Sony DV camera as the output for print to tape and it works perfect..
sure seems like the common denominator here is Panasonic !!

I have tried changing Firewire cards, cables, etc.. and it sure seems like it is the deck or something in vegas does not like panasonic..

mike
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2003, 03:42 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 730
mine seems to work, but i get stupidly low frame rates outputting via the camera to a monitor, it is so strange. even after pre-renders.

Zac
Zac Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2003, 05:59 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
This issue has been discussed a lot. Try using the search.
These two might help as well:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=10998
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...&threadid=8661
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2003, 12:48 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Problem Fixed!

I'm using Windows XP. My HP Scanner was conflicting with my DV Cam. The scanner was on the same device section as the DV Cam. It is called "Imaging Devices" in the Device Manager. I disabled the scanner and it works great!
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network