Q6600 or Q6700 (non-overclocked) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2008, 05:43 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Q6600 or Q6700 (non-overclocked)

Friday, I'm making an upgrade from a lackluster non-OC E2160 and IGP to either a Q6600 or Q6700 and a EVGA non-OC 9600GT.

I can't overclock because I'm upgrading a OEM Compaq Geforce 7100/nForce 630i chipset. What do you think? non-overclockedwise, Q6600 or Q6700?

Edit: I also have 2GB of PC2-6400 6-6-6-12 RAM on Vista 32bit, Do you recommend a 2x2GB (4GB) for my upgrade?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 07:45 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
The clock rate on the Q6700 is about 10% higher than the Q6600. Personally, I wouldn't pay the extra $60 (or so) for that, but it really depends on your needs. Will an extra 10% boost in processor power make a real difference to what you are doing?

With Vista, going from 2GB to 4GB should make for a noticeable difference.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 09:09 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
I have 2 plans: Gaming with Source engine games that only use one core, and rendering in Vegas/Capturing MJPEG.

If a game only uses one core, you'd still want that one core to be faster.

The thing is about the ram upgrade, that would bump my total cost to $660 for more ram and $570 without the ram. (I need a better Corsair HX520 PSU too) Do I NEED the extra ram or is it optional?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 07:35 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I'm not running Vista yet (I avoid new versions of Windows until they've been out for awhile), but from what I gather you really do need 4 gigs of memory to get good performance out of a Vista system. That should give you more of a boost in performance than the difference between a Q6600 and Q6700.

BTW, you can get a Q6700 for a lot less than $570. Try Newegg.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 11:08 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert M Wright View Post
I'm not running Vista yet (I avoid new versions of Windows until they've been out for awhile), but from what I gather you really do need 4 gigs of memory to get good performance out of a Vista system. That should give you more of a boost in performance than the difference between a Q6600 and Q6700.

BTW, you can get a Q6700 for a lot less than $570. Try Newegg.
My totals include everything (Q6700, 9600GT, and HX520 alltogether) totaling $570. Add ram and that's $660. I'll ask on Friday about memory again.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2008, 06:17 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
Have you purchased your components yet?

I know that the intel 6 series quads are quality parts, but have you looked at the 9 series? The 9450 is a bit more money than the 6600 but has a higher clock speed, more cache and sucks down less power. Also it has SSE4 support which I'm told benefits video encoding tasks - but until I see benchmarks I'm not sold on that one just yet.
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2008, 09:45 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
My 630i probably doesn't support 45nm chips. It's a Phoenix OEM BIOS so 45nm would be most likely not supported.

I got the upgrades and am happy with the Q6700, Dual-slot 9600GT, Corsair HX520 and Corsair 4GB RAM. I'll get a PCI (not PCI-e) SATA RAID as soon as I can get Cineform.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network