Vertical Lines at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2003, 08:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Vertical Lines

I have a problem when rendering my video. I use Premiere 6 with the update. When I render video I get thin vertical lines on my footage. I have a feeling it is macroblocking. I have used several differnt codecs and I don't compress the footage. I am lost. The original footage has no lines and several different cameras have the same effect. Any ideas?
Will Nuttall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2003, 12:54 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
lines

I'm having the same problem, I'm new to Premier so I cannot help you. If I fix the problem I will let you know.
Kylie Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2003, 08:46 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
What kind of mother board do you have? I am using a KT4V which has a VIA KT400 chipset. I am using XP. I have a feeling the mother board my be to blame
Will Nuttall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2003, 04:53 PM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Can you put up a picture (full resolution uncompressed please)
somewhere?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 12:30 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Here is a small photo of the problem. You can see the large blocks on her neck. This was only after one render!

http://playlilght.tripod.com/
Will Nuttall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 02:23 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 43
Okay, now that I see your image I see that it is just like one of the problems I am having. I had assumed that it was the method of deinterlacing I was using but maybe it was just the render. Although I was using After Effects. I'll check later if I get the problem rendering without modifying the footage at all.

Jay.
Jason Tammemagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 05:36 AM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
This image has some clue, but please post a full resolution
uncompressed version. Also, does this also happen if you just
import the footage and then render out? Or only when you "do
something" with the footage?

To what format/codec are you rendering?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 07:24 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
The problem happens whenever footage is rendered. If no rendering is done in the timeline and then there are no lines when output to DV. I am using XP with VIA chipset motherboard and NVida display card. Don't know if they are a problem.

I have posted a full size grabe at:

http://www.villagephotos.com/pubbrow...elected=400705
Will Nuttall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 09:56 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That link doesn't seem to work...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 12:28 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Will, Rob was asking what codec your using to render out your footage. If it's only in footage you've altered and requires rendering it could be the codec at fault.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2003, 09:02 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
I think the link will work now, you have to click on the thumbnail.

I am using the Microsoft DV (PAL) codec. I have tried other 3rd party DV codecs and got same result. I have been through every setting in premiere and it makes no difference. I have a demo of pinnacle edition and I have the same problems on that software also. I have tried updating directX and nothing. Thanks for your help.
Will Nuttall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 05:00 AM   #12
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
And these lines aren't in the source material, only when you are
rendering?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2003, 06:36 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Yup. Not in the source only in the rendered footage
Will Nuttall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2003, 09:05 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 14
What has changed since the lines started showing up? Or have they always been there?

Typical question, have you done a complete uninstall and reinstall of Premiere? Sometimes the codecs get get corrupted from crashes.
I'd try un-installing everything and reinstall. (ie, directX, Premiere, andythiung with video codecs)

J
Jason Heck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2003, 09:06 AM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 14
Wait, I have another idea. What drive is your preview footage being rendered to? You should have your preview footage rendered to a different drive than your raw footage drive.
Jason Heck is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network