Problems after upgrade at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 3rd, 2008, 09:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 66
Problems after upgrade

I just did an upgrade to pinnacle 12 ultamate, added an Radeon 9600 graphics card (repalced the nvida 5300) Problem that I have incounterd is the playback in my preview window is choppy. This being after I have the project done and ready to make movie and all of the transitions, music, editing is complete.

I have tried to do a short 5 min preview to check and I still have the same problem skip skip skip during play.

I did not have this when I ran Pinnacle studio 9.4 only sometimes when the preview first started, a few frames then it would smooth and be ok

Running 2 gb memory on the system (should be plenty). also 2.66 ghz Intel Processor 2 hard drives one for OS & NLE and one for video storage
any help or advice out there?
Joe Hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 01:24 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi,

Did you do a complete uninstall of the NVidia drivers? They don't like "hanging around".

Have you downloaded the latest Catalyst drivers for your new card?

The basic model of Radeon 9600 is no "high speed card" IMHO - the XT model is okay but still kind of old.

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2008, 09:28 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 66
thanks Lars,

I did uninstall nvidia drivers and did upgrade the radeon driver, also I found some system tweaks from the video guys web site which I think has helped. I cleared all of my old projects from Pinnicle and from my storage drive (trying to do some house cleaning to free up some HD space)

I have not tried the system since. I have another project comming soon so well see then.

One of the tweaks that I found was that I did not have one of my drives set to DMA so that might have been one problem. The Video Guys web site has some good info on fine tunning your system to help your NLE run better. Some good reading there for XP users.

Thanks again, Joe
Joe Hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2008, 04:32 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
yeah, running something in PIO mode really s*cks :-) It hogs the CPU like crazy(since the cpu will have to move EVERY byte from the drive )

Hope it works out!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network