Upgrade a 2.40 Core 2 to a Quad?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 26th, 2008, 01:44 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Upgrade a 2.40 Core 2 to a Quad??

I use PPro and sometimes another Adpbe app at the same time. Would upgrading to a low-mid range Quad make much of a difference performance wise?

(I have 3gigs of 667mhz RAM)
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 10:06 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
I upgraded from my 2.4Ghz Duo to the 2.4Ghz Q6600 Quad core about two months ago and the move was definitely worth it. I'm running 6Gb of RAM, RAID-0 for footage, render time has improved a great deal.

One thing you might not be thinking about is power, my Q6600 was not running as well as it should have and after some research I realised my entire system was grossly under powered so I had to buy a 750W power supply.

Useful link: http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2008, 09:10 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
See:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=119195

Since you have DDR2 667 memory I'd guess you'll have to buy:

1. New Motherboard
2. CPU, Q9450 or better
3. Possibly new memory(or go for the DQ6 DDR2 MB as I did)

The gain in render speed is huge(mpeg2/HD)

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2008, 02:41 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I don't see any reason to toss the motherboard and memory necessarily. A lot of (most) boards that support a Core 2 Duo will support a Core 2 Quad. Q6600 and Q9300 are very viable, lower cost options too.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 06:35 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Robert, I don't agree

1. many modern MB's take the Q6600, but not the new 45nm penryn family
2. Q9300 isn't a good choice for video editining since it sports a cut down SSE4 set + half the cache size - and the lower price doesn't make up for it.

As I said, he CAN reuse his memory if he goes for a DDR2 based MB. 667mhz memory modules are "slow" and he may run into FSB problems when using a modern/faster CPU(that is if he doesn't choose a MB with decoupled frequencis for memory speed and FSB).

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 08:31 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Africa
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas de Kock View Post
I upgraded from my 2.4Ghz Duo to the 2.4Ghz Q6600 Quad core about two months ago and the move was definitely worth it. I'm running 6Gb of RAM, RAID-0 for footage, render time has improved a great deal.
- How much is "a great deal"? 5%? 50%? 200%?
- How are you sure that the improvement is not due to your RAID-0 and RAM?
Thanks.
Seun Osewa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 08:45 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I'm not sure how many boards will not support a Penryn (I haven't done anything like an extensive survey), but I sure have the impression that most being sold nowadays do. Some boards might need a BIOS update. If the OP's board will not support a Penryn, then a Q6600 or Q6700 are certainly viable options. At under $200 nowadays, the Q6600 offers a lot of bang for the buck.

Both the Q9300 and Q9450 support the same SSE4 instruction subset (4.1). The larger cache on a Q9450 doesn't do much at all for video encoding performance (it does help some games run considerably faster though).
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 02:16 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Robert,

You're right about SSE 4.1 (I can almost swear that when I checked the docs at Intel before the Q9450 was available here in sweden they had an "*" on the Q9300 on SSE4.1 - anyway its not there now.

The Q6600 may be a more viable option in this case considering MB and "old" memory modules.

// Lz
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network