LACIE drives issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2008, 10:30 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
LACIE drives issues

Hello,

I have two Lacie drives, 1 TB and 1 750 GB.
When windows recognizes them they work beautifully. But before being able to be detected by windows I have to turns them on and off and on and off a million times. This is ridiculous. After many plays with the switches finally they both appear in MY COMPUTER and I can work with them. But what a waste of time!
Is anybody else having that issues with Windows XP service pack 2?

Also, when I researches this issue on line I found a bunch of posts saying to stay aware of Lacie drives that they fails way too often! Great! I thought I had bought good drives from a good brand!
If this is true, I just can't take that risk.
What drive does anybody recommend here?
thanks
Larry
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 10:58 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC Area.
Posts: 550
I can't help with the windows problem because I honestly don't know, but did want to comment on your post about the reliability of your drives. I have a few lacies and mybooks etc. attached to my mac pro, and none of my drives have ever failed me. Lacies seam to be the best because they're the quietest and the first to mount every time.

On the windows side, though.. since I haven't used windows in an eternity I may not know.. but have you looked on the lacie website for updated drives for windows, have you tested the lacie on another computer just to make sure it is infact windows and not a problem with the interface card in your hard drive.

Good Luck
Louis Maddalena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 12:51 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 792
I use three LaCie drives with Windows SP2 on an HP workstation.
I've never had any problems. They switch on and off automatically when I power the computer up and down.
__________________
http://www.gooderick.com
Richard Gooderick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 02:03 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Well, mine don't turn on and off automatically when I start windows, so how come?
I let the drives on the automatic position though, so I think they should turn on automatically. Actually, no, sorry, they do turn on automatically, but they do not appear in MY COMPUTER. I have to switch them on and off a dozen times before they do.
larry
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 02:26 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Good cooling is vital for longevity of a HDD. You might look at this as an enclosure for your next HDD:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817173042
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 08:27 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
Lacie drives have been nothing but dismal failures here. I haven't really tried any other external drives for editing. Since using those I have been using an internal RAID array as much as possible.
I am in need of an external drive for an upcoming project and I think I'll invest in a CalDigit system.
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 08:40 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Dismal failure, uh! so maybe those people were right!?
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 01:07 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 335
I've worked with Lacie Drives a long time as well. I have 2 500 GB drives and 1 single 1TB drive. They all have the triple interface USB, 400 and 800. There all d2 series. The 1TB has died twice, but I have revived it by using disk warrior on my Mac. The 500GB's seem to work flawless. I'm wondering if there's was a time when lacie switched manufacturers of drives. A bad batch.

Suggestion on the PC side of things. Check your power options, make sure there just not powering down from standing idle.

When starting up your system try leaving the drives off until completely booted. If daisy chained turn the first drive on that has the direct connection to the PC and then the second drive that is connected through the first drive.
__________________
Jeff Zimmerman Colorado DP Videographer
Sony PXW-FS7 www.m3films.com
Jeff Zimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 02:21 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi,

There could be a disguised error - When Windows mounts a drive it tries to use the same letter as last time ie "f:" - should that letter already be used by for instance a card reader or something else, the new drive will be invisible. Then you have to right click "your computer" -> Manage -> Disk Manager. If you see the Lacie drive here, then right click the partition -> Change Drive Letters and Paths

Here, assign a new letter to the drive and hereafter that letter will be the default for that drive, so choose something like "x:".

Other tips:

Make sure you have only ONE interface connetced at a time(ie ONLY USB or only Firewire). Also make sure that the external powersupply is working and that it is connected prior to connecting the USB cable.

Good luck!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 06:17 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
very useful tips, thanks
L.
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network