HELP!!! Firewire port card??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 4th, 2003, 09:26 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
HELP!!! Firewire port card???

Someone told me earlier I needed a Firewire port card, because my PC doesn't support firewire.

What are these cards, how much do they cost, and how can it help me get a connection?

I have a Windows 2000 Hewlett Packard.

Please, I really need help, I'm trying to get some things to my editor, but I'm falling far behind schedule because I can't get my video to my PC.

Any help would be very appreciated. And, as always, your name would be given in the "special thanks" section at the end of my film. (dont get your hopes up, I'm 14)
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 09:30 AM   #2
Posting disabled - Contact Admin.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7
hey josh

firewire cards can bought from any computer store.

I guess you could think of them as an extremely fast USB, hence the reason they are used for connecting video cameras/decks/portable hard drives etc to computers.

Here in Australia they are about 40 dollars or so.. i guess thats about 25 - 30 USD.

Dont forget to get some cable =)
J.J Woodroffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 10:09 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
If you need software for editing you might want to check out the ADS Pyro card bundle. For about $60USD you get a great firewire card and some editing software (Ulead VIdeoStudio 6.0 SE DVD
Ulead DVD MovieFactory Wizard PlugIn, Ulead DVD PictureShow). Chances are it's available from a DVinfo sponsor but if you just want to read up you'll find it mentioned here: http://www.videoguys.com/pyro.htm
If you have more money look at the version that comes with Adobe Premiere 6.5.

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 12:10 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
I have a very nice editing system (premiere, photoshop, after effects), I just need the card...

Do they connect to the USB plug?

Thanks for the input guys, I really appreciate it.
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 05:17 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
"Do they connect to the USB plug?"

Firewire and USB are two distinct computer ports, like serial and parallel in the "old" days. While many cameras today have features that take advantage of USB, for stills or mpeg4 video from removeable media, there are to my knowledge no USB-enabled DV cameras. USB1 is too slow for video and USB2 hasn't been around long enough for anyone to throw their weight behind it for native DV (3.6 MBps). But you can buy combo cards with both firewire and USB ports, and such a card would be fine for your digital camcorder footage, provided the card is OHCI compliant.

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2003, 01:58 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
OK, but like, I would have to plug the card into something to get it to the computer.

I guess what I'm asking, is how does the card work? What does it plug into on the PC, etc.

Thanks
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2003, 05:56 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Yes, Joshua, a basic firewire card goes into an open PCI slot inside your computer case. It's like installing a network card or a new video card. Once it's in and recognized you connect the four-pin end of a 4/6 firewire cable to the camcorder and the six-pin end to the firewire card. Take a look at this site (http://www.shortcourses.com/video/chapter08.htm) for some background and images relating to firewire.

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2003, 08:08 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
lol. Can ya dumb it down a little for me?

Anyways, where would I put the card? Is it like installing a new video card? I checked the back of my computer, and I couldn't find any slots where the card could go.

I'll keep looking...
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 03:52 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
You need to open your computer case Joshua. Inside on your motherboard there is a row of pci slots, usually white plastic frames, into which you can put cards such as soundcards or in your case, a firewire card.

If you don't know which slots are pci slots, check for example which port your soundcard is connected to and it's probably a pci slot. Then just fina another similar port that is empty.

Note: In brand machines such as HP, the sound, modem and even graphics card can be integrated on your motherboard, i.e. they are not "standalone" pci cards in which case you might not be able to find your pci slots by looking for those cards.

Regards

Greven
Greven Gomez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network