Audio problems capturing from Z1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 10th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Audio problems capturing from Z1

It's been hard to find anyone who may have had a problem like mine, because most people capture to a specific editing program, but let's go.

Even if I usually do my editing with Avid Xpress, sometimes I use a simpler capture program called WinDV. I use it to capture from my Sony Z1 and PDX10 video cameras, and through my Canopus converter.

Lately I'm having a problem when capturing from my Z1 that I can't figure out. When I down-convert an HDV tape I get files with no sound. The sound is there, because I listen to it as I play the tapes, but the captured files are mute.

Today I tested the files again, capturing from Avid, and the audio was fine. So where is the problem?

I thought it might related to WinXP and the SP3 update, but I installed another WinXP with SP2 on another HD, and I am getting the same.

The camera setup is fine, or there wouldn't be a capture from Avid, and if I play DV tapes on the Z1 I also get audio alright.

I am getting out of options on what else to try.

Any suggestions?
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 08:43 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Carlos, this is a shot in the dark, cause I don't know WinDV, but could it be an option in the program? Perhaps by mistake you've turned off audio capture and left it just video?
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 08:47 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vito DeFilippo View Post
Carlos, this is a shot in the dark, cause I don't know WinDV, but could it be an option in the program? Perhaps by mistake you've turned off audio capture and left it just video?
No, it's not. Same problem happens with Windows Movie Maker. Does not happen when playing DV in either program. Does not happen when capturing from Avid.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 10:42 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Allright. Does WindDV have an option to let you choose your audio hardware device? Perhaps that's not set right.
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 10:47 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vito DeFilippo View Post
Allright. Does WindDV have an option to let you choose your audio hardware device? Perhaps that's not set right.
It does not, neither has Movie Maker.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 01:30 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
I'm out of ideas...
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2008, 08:57 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
I have used WinDV for years, it's a wonderfull small program.

Try capturing DV footage - do you get the same error?

Second, take a look at the properties of the footage captured with Avid and compare it to the properties of footage captured with WinDV. There must be a difference somewhere.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 08:16 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
Can you detail how you're importing using canopus? The most direct and effective way to capture is through a firewire cable connected from your camera to your computer. in addition, you can specify it to down convert in the camera's menu.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network