Capture frame shifting artifact on PC screen - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2003, 09:26 AM   #16
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
If you decide to have the camera looked at, you'll need to send the camera to Canon, with the problem tape stopped at the location of the error. Explain in detail the problem. I would also show them the screen grab you have.

I would also discuss this with the video card manufacture. Tell them the problem and offer the screen grab to them also.

I suspect it's a combination of the two devices being slightly incompatible under certain conditions. My only word of caution, that these type of problems are difficult to diagnosis and fix. Your inclusion of the screen grab will help a lot.
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem

Search for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2003, 02:37 PM   #17
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
As mentioned in another thread. You will more than likely need to buy a new graphics card.

Is'nt the Matrox Millennium 3D Flex card PCI? if so it is definately this - The RTX needs the AGP cards G550 or above.

Or it might be worth running the Screen at a different colour bit. What is it set to at the moment? I think it needs to be 16bit????

Hope this helps,

Ed Smith
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web

For quick answers Search | The best in the business: Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 07:46 AM   #18
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If possible run it at 24 or 32 bits. Otherwise you won't see what
your camera has recorded since that is basicallly in 24 bits...

Rob Lohman,
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search for quick answers | Buy from the best: sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 11:28 PM   #19
New Boot
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 6
I think I'm having the same, strange problem!

This sounds a lot like a problem I'm having. I posted about a week ago and no one's had any thoughts yet.

Name that Artifact! HDV Compression, Tape Head Lag, Sony 30scan, Capture Error

You still getting emails, Barb? If so, where'd you end up?
Matthew Bowman is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network