Dual monitors with a old PCI card?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 18th, 2003, 03:57 AM   #1
High School Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ohio, USA
Posts: 609
Dual monitors with a old PCI card??

Hey, I know you can do this, i've known it for a while, but I haven't gotten around to trying it myself. What software do I need to make a old PCI video card work along with my main video card to do dual monitors? I've seen it done....

Thanks.
Alex Knappenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 04:11 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
Windows 2000 or Windows XP.
__________________
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 01:02 PM   #3
High School Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ohio, USA
Posts: 609
XP.
Alex Knappenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 01:14 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Alex what kind of AGP video card are you using. You probably already know this but most newer Nvidia cards support dual monitors on their own- without the need for an additional PCI card.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 01:23 PM   #5
High School Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ohio, USA
Posts: 609
Yeah, I am sure my crappy video card doesn't support dual monitors. :D

It's a ATI AIW 128 PRO 32MB AGP, from like 2000....no dual monitor support, trust me. :)

I was planning on buying a new videocard, something nice and fast, but then I couldn't see giving up the TV Tuner on this card, for a faster and newer card, plus I don't even play games really.
Alex Knappenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 01:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 245
xp or 2k allow you to use two different types of video cards. It doesn't matter if they are both ati or nvidia. You can get away with both in one box with both os'.


Rob:D
Robert Poulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 01:51 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
You don't need XP or 2k either. I used two seperate brands of video cards, both VERY cheap, on 98SE and XP pro, and in both cases it worked fine. No additional software is needed.
Billy McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 04:26 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 148
Don't skimp too bad though, get one that is at least new enough to say, support 3D accelleration. That should ensure that the driver will be robust enough to handle a dual-monitor duty. I tried putting an *old* Matrox Millennium in my machine as a second video card, and had nothing but unstable editing from there on, even when I disabled it. Yanked it back out the next day, after about 10 reboots/lockups the first day. Stable since.

I'd say anything NVidia TNT2 or better or ATI Radeon of any flavor should be good enough.
Brian M. Dickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 08:47 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Billy,

98SE does allow the use of two cards but they must both be PCI. XP and 2000 allow mixing of AGP and PCI as well as specification of which is the primary card.

Alex,

Have a look around for a dual head card, you can pick up something like a Matrox G400/450/500 quite cheap if you take the time to search. I'm still using my G400/16MB card to run my 2 19" monitors for my NLE.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 09:22 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
<<<-- Originally posted by Adrian Douglas : Billy,

98SE does allow the use of two cards but they must both be PCI. XP and 2000 allow mixing of AGP and PCI as well as specification of which is the primary card. -->>>

Ah, I had forgotten about the AGI vs. PCI stipulation. It worked for me since both of mine were PCI. Thanks for pointing that out.
Billy McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2003, 08:53 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
I found it out the hard way about 4 years ago. I wanted to add a second monitor to my then 98SE NLE setup so I scoured Brisbane for a PCI card to go with the AGP one I already had. I found one, and PAID for it, took it home and 98 wouldn't recognise it so I took it back. A couple of weeks later I got hold of a Matrox G400 dual head card and have been using it since.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network