would either of these computers be sufficient for video editing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 13th, 2008, 11:55 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmond
Posts: 119
would either of these computers be sufficient for video editing?

Walmart.com: Dell 15.4" Inspiron 1525 Flamingo Pink Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2370: Computers



or



Walmart.com: Dell 15.4" Studio 15 Black Laptop PC w/ AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor RM-70: Computers



also, if I get one of these computers should I install Windows XP on it ?
__________________
73003
Kris Zimbelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 01:04 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 25
looks okay for DV, but screen size is small

You can edit DV on just about any computer. The problem with these laptops is the small screen size and low resolution. I think a 17" screen and 1024 vertical resolution is about the minimum. I prefer Vista to XP, once you turn off that silly UAC. YMMV.
Hank Coffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 08:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmond
Posts: 119
I am going to send the hdmi output to my Hannspree 19", which has greater resolution
__________________
73003
Kris Zimbelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 10:10 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
One thing I didn't see in specs was firewire port ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos

Last edited by Chris Barcellos; October 14th, 2008 at 10:36 AM.
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2008, 04:34 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Zimbelman View Post
I am going to send the hdmi output to my Hannspree 19", which has greater resolution
You don't want to edit your material? For editing you need firewire, not HDMI.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2008, 09:50 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmond
Posts: 119
It has 1394 input, HDMI output
__________________
73003
Kris Zimbelman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network