Can Photoshop help with colour correction? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 25th, 2003, 06:33 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Can Photoshop help with colour correction?

I've shot with two cameras in a bright daylight setting on a river cruise boat (under a glass/plexi canopy). Tape from the backup camera (Sony D8) is darker than from the VX2000 and colour in the late cruise is more saturated than the noon cruise. Are there tools in Photoshop that can tell me, by looking at frame exports, how to use Premiere to smooth out some of the differences? I'm ok with light levels but colour work is outside my real experience.

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 07:57 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I guess it could IF you want to manually adjust every frame. Why not use the color correction tools in your NLE?
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 08:16 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Sorry if I wasn't clear, Edward. I asked how to use Photoshop to analyse differences in frame captures and act on the info in Premiere. Not how to correct frame by frame. I'm a little old for that kind of time investment.

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 08:35 AM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The problem will PS is that it will use colors outside the range (gamma) of NTSC video. In the filters there is an NTSC color safe filter, but it's not the best conversion. You're better off using the software waveform monitor/vectorscope in your NLE.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 08:51 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Thanks, Jeff. I do have those tools in the Canopus DV Tools set but like Premiere 6 there is no way I know to keep a reference clip/frame on the screen while "correcting". If I have to rely on my memory to correct I'm in trouble. I've seen demos of FCP in which a "correct" frame is next to the "to be corrected" frame for visual reference of progress. How can you accomplish that in Premiere and if you can't, how the heck do you correct other than by trial and error?

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 09:37 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Thanks, Jeff. I do have those tools in the Canopus DV Tools set but like Premiere 6 there is no way I know to keep a reference clip/frame on the screen while "correcting". If I have to rely on my memory to correct I'm in trouble. I've seen demos of FCP in which a "correct" frame is next to the "to be corrected" frame for visual reference of progress. How can you accomplish that in Premiere and if you can't, how the heck do you correct other than by trial and error?

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 10:46 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I believe that was added in Premiere Pro as well???? I know Vegas 4 can do this too.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 10:46 AM   #8
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I'm a Mac guy, so I can't be much help here, except to say that PS is not the best tool for the job. Maybe rephrase the question so the Premiere users can post on your questions.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 12:38 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
If you have one of the real time Canopus cards, then you could import the footage into the Canopus editing software, fix the problems in there and then export the footage back to Premiere.

The latest color correction tools in the RT software are fairly good. Not as good as Edius but OK.

Try the gamma curve control to get the brightness levels similar. If you correct the color saturation (an easy task in the Canopus software) it will no longer look like afternoon but the shadows may look all wrong.

There is a good book on color correction that you can get. I find it to be of great help. Color Correction for Digital Video" by Steve Hullfish and Jaime Fowler is the name. I'd like to thank Ken Tanaka for mentioning the book.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 12:59 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Thank you Mike. I'll get the book.

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network