XH-A1s capture into Vista-64bit? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 27
XH-A1s capture into Vista-64bit?

Got a brand new XH-A1s and recorded a couple hours of music recital first time out. Quality playback to Samsung 24in monitor on my computer looks fantastic, but when I capture with Roxio Creator 2009 it's "ok" but playback of the resultant mpeg looks a little "grainy" on the same monitor.

I didn't buy the Roxio Creator for this purpose, just have it on hand...so if there is a better combination, then objective/experience commentary/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Once I figure this bit out I'll be experimenting with connecting a Digi 003+ and some Rode NT5s on one channel to go with the Rode Videomic that does pretty good on top of the camera.

Thanks in advance.

Dave Nuttall
San Antonio, TX
Dave Nuttall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 08:34 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Roxio probably shouldn't be your capture tool of choice. (grin)

Google HDVSplit and go get it. It's free, dead reliable will even split your scenes. Many here, including me, use it and lead full and happy lives.

Parenthetically, an Adobe tech told me they use it too. Can't be all bad.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 05:39 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 27
Thanks for the advice, Tripp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp Woelfel View Post
Roxio probably shouldn't be your capture tool of choice. (grin)
Oh how sadly true that has been for me with Roxio over the 14 years I've been toying with their many iterations....but thought I'd give it a try as I "learn" before burning more cash!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp Woelfel View Post
Google HDVSplit and go get it. It's free, dead reliable will even split your scenes. Many here, including me, use it and lead full and happy lives.
Are you working on Vista-64bit and which of the DRIVERS work best for you? (They seem to be somewhat dated, circa 2004, give or take).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp Woelfel View Post
Parenthetically, an Adobe tech told me they use it too. Can't be all bad.
Not surprising that lots of that sort of thing happens among the industry big-guys.
Dave Nuttall is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network