Help! Premiere CS3 Won't Lay Off to Canon XH-A1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2009, 10:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
Help! Premiere CS3 Won't Lay Off to Canon XH-A1

I am desperately in need of help. I have to lay off a project for a client that was shot 24f on a Canon XH-A1. I did not realize when I bought it but premiere does not support Canon 24f mode!!! It works fine in Final Cut Pro. What's even wierder is that i cannot even get basic playback in the timeline. I've been capturing fine for weeks. Is there a patch or something I can download or some solution for laying off. I cannot believe they would just not support it.
William Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 12:05 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
There's a lot of help on this at the Adobe User Forums. One solution seems to be to use a CS2 plugin available here: Adobe - Premiere Pro : For Windows : Editing presets for Canon Progressive-scan HDV cameras
I also understand Cineform has a product that supports 24f. FWIW CS4 Premiere works fine with 24f....I don't have CS3 so I can't try any of this but I have captured and edited from an XHa1 in Premiere Cs4.....maybe the update would be worth it? HTH //Battle Vaughan /miamiherald.com video team
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 11:39 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
CS3 supports Canon's 24f.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 02:03 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
hmmm

then is it possible this is a setting problem with my camera?
William Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 03:06 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
CS3 and CS4 does not support canon 24f in export to tape!!!

I checked the adobe website and found out that 24f is not supported in cs3 or 4 for export to tape. what the hell?

Does the new version of media composer support it? this is so frustrating, because I do this for a living. Time to save up and get a mac.
William Holland is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network