Vegas vs. Premiere/AE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2003, 02:36 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 4
Vegas vs. Premiere/AE

I've been working in Premiere 6.5 and After Effects 5.5 on PCs and am pretty used to them, though never used them for DV. On this and other DV forums I see numerous references to Vegas, a program I'd never even heard of until now.

Checking the Sonic Foundry web site, Vegas seems to have at first glance a more user-friendly interface than either Adobe application.

What is the great advantage of Vegas over the Adobe apps? Is it a better program for DV editing - for professional projects, that is?

I'm new to DV. As long as I'm emptying my bank account on camera and equipment, would I be off to a better start by getting Vegas also?
Larry Feign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2003, 06:34 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
masking, compositing, true 5.1 surround with metadata extensions, soundforge integration, Keyframable Audio and visual EQs and effects, easy track motions, still image import as video, pre-render facility, scripts, avanced colour correction. Bump mapping, chroma keying yadda yadda yadda
.........all in a matter of seconds ....

put it this way, vegas is a FAST moving application, all in one (apart from s/forge) kit which doesnt require multiple apps to get the results you need.

Premiere is good, no doubt, but it depends on what YOU want tp do and how fast you want to do it
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2003, 05:38 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
If Vegas is easier to use for you then I would probably go with it. It's very powerful. Maybe one weak area of it is titling, but you can probably still do decent titles when you know the program better. There are also lots of 3rd party titlers that are good programs.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2003, 06:49 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 312
Iīve worked with Premier and After Effects for a few years now...

Today I just donwloaded a demo of Vegas.. and I think itīs awesome. A little complicated at first... but I just used it for an hour and allready can tell It fits my needs and habits better than the Adobe Combo...

Why not download the demo and give it a shot?
__________________
Messenger Boy : The Thessalonian you're fighting, he's the biggest man I've ever seen. I wouldn't want to fight him.
Achilles : That is why no one will remember your name.
Federico Dib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2003, 08:56 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
i TOTALLY agree with the Titling being weak, however threa re afew good cheap downlaodable apps like Xara which offer some alternatives..

Boris is also coming out which will apparently have an OpenGl title renderer, so you can basically do full 3d animated titles jsut like a computer game intro...
itll also do a load of other stuff, but the price.. well thats another story...
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2003, 09:18 AM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 4
Thanks for the excellent feedback.

I use Flash for titles anyway, if I want cool animated effects. Vegas sounds great. Until now I've been using a combination of Premiere, After Effects and Cool Edit Pro (now Adobe Audition), as well as Flash, and it can get very wearying constantly switching between applications.

Last question, though: how does Vegas handle importing square pixel graphics (such as Flash output) and stretching it for TV pixels? AE is great for this.
Larry Feign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2003, 09:31 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
i have never tried, but download the demo and let us Know!
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2003, 01:34 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
<<<-- Originally posted by Larry Feign : how does Vegas handle importing square pixel graphics (such as Flash output) and stretching it for TV pixels? AE is great for this. -->>>

Vegas isn't picky about importing media, you just have to worry about how you want it to be previewed/output.

Changing the pixel aspect ratio is very easy.
You can change it anytime at the project and individual clip level. The preview will immediately reflect your changes. The choices are Square, NTSC, or PAL with options for widescreen DV and Video CD.

It's also possible to change it on export.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network