Core i7 vs. Server CPU at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2009, 06:30 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
Core i7 vs. Server CPU

I'm trying to spec out a new video editing system.

I capture HD from a Xh-A1 and a few HV30's and work solely in Adobe CS4.

Currently, I'm on an AMD Quad Core 2 Quad (Q6600) with 4GB on Vista 64. This doesn't seem to be getting the job done once I lay several pieces of video on top of each other in an Adobe Premiere timeline. It also crawls to a halt when I open a DVD composition in Encore. In this profession, time is money and my current configuration is not helping.

According to PassMark (PassMark Intel vs AMD CPU Benchmarks - High End), the server processors are still turning many more cycles than the best desktop processors, but I don't know enough about the differences to know if the server processors will work well with Adobe CS4. I'm hoping you guys can shed some light on that. I want to edit and render on the same machine.

Here is the desktop system I'm looking at building: NewEgg Link
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 08:19 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Walworth, NY
Posts: 291
Brit,

A few things about your picks. I too went with an SSD for a systems drive but used the OCZ vertex 250 GB drive. 128 might be too small, check your current used disc space and see that it will be enough.

The 1.5TB single drive you have listed I am assuming you are going to use as a scratch drive for media. This could be a weak link in your system. You will lose a lot of the speed of the SSD by not using a raid. I checked your motherboard choice and it does support raid 0 and that is what I would suggest. Two 500 GB drives in raid 0 would be a much better choice and if you want an even faster raid, get two 300 GB 10K velociraptor drives, that combo screams and makes the best use of the SSD without going to a two SSD raid 0. Now that would be interesting.......

Quite a few people use 1TB or more in their raid, but having important information on there long term should be a no no. Raid is fast but not the most secure for long term storage. Personally, after I complete a project I back it up on another drive (I use a Thermaltake Black X that has sata and usb ports, and store the drives in iStar drawers, Newegg Item# N82E16817991004,) and burn a master on Blu ray. Now I have three copies (including the original tape) and have freed up the room on my raid.

I would go from six to twelve GB on memory, and buy a 12 GB kit not two sixes. Check my recent posts, we have discussed that in length.

If you need to save a little cash to help offset these changes, go with the 940 I7. There are a lot of forums where this has been easily overclocked to standard 965 speeds. Spending your money on the raid and updated memory would make for a better editing experience, IMHO.

As far as server vs desktop processors, I don't know enough to comment.

Hope this helps
David Chilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 08:54 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
David, thank you very much for the detailed reply. I appreciate it greatly.

I'm going to read over your suggestions for a little while and post back any questions.

I chose the 128GB SSD because I do most of my design work on a Sony VAIO Z laptop (http://britmansell.com/productivity/...ove-thee/)that has a 128GB SSD drive. It's perfect for that, but I hadn't thought about the scratch discs running on the SSD. I'm sure that would be a huge benefit.

I agree with your RAID comments. I do have an external 1TB drive to which I backup all completed projects, so storage is not a big issue, and buying more TB drives at the current prices is not a problem. I'm going to pass on the Velicoraptor drives, though. Too pricey for my budget, but you're right, they would be great, I'm sure.

I haven't seen the HD drawers you referenced. That's very cool. I may have to do that when I exceed the one external drive.

I will probably update my NewEgg wish list with your suggestions and post it back for feedback.

Thanks again.

Last edited by Brit Mansell; March 18th, 2009 at 09:44 AM.
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 12:55 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chilson View Post
I would go from six to twelve GB on memory, and buy a 12 GB kit not two sixes. Check my recent posts, we have discussed that in length.
David, I didn't see where you mentioned actually buying the 12GB memory kit. Did you find a good place to buy it? Most of the places I see it listed are out of stock or shady looking.
__________________
Motorsports Web and Video: http://www.OctaneMedia.com
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 02:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Walworth, NY
Posts: 291
Brit,

The 12 GB 1333 kit is available now at newegg:

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS3 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I talked with Corsair on the 1600 kit and they said it will be available any day, two days ago, which is the one I am waiting for. I'm on the waiting list at two places. If you want the 1600 I would be glad to give you a heads up when it becomes available. Right after I get mine of course! :) (It's about $100 bucks more.)

Dave
David Chilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 02:34 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chilson View Post
I would be glad to give you a heads up when it becomes available.
Absolutely. Thanks.
__________________
Motorsports Web and Video: http://www.OctaneMedia.com
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 03:48 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amelia Island, Florida
Posts: 23
system and scratch drives

[QUOTE=David Chilson;1029616]Brit,

.... You will lose a lot of the speed of the SSD by not using a raid. I checked your motherboard choice and it does support raid 0 and that is what I would suggest. Two 500 GB drives in raid 0 would be a much better choice and if you want an even faster raid, get two 300 GB 10K velociraptor drives, that combo screams and makes the best use of the SSD without going to a two SSD raid 0. Now that would be interesting.......

David,

I read your comment wsith interest. I am currently trying to configure a desktop for use primarily to edit avchd footage from a Sony sr 8. I would like to burn BluRay with menus eventually, just as I have done with SD work.

I am unclear on where software belongs in a 3 drive set-up. I am thinking of a 1 Tb 7200 for my system drive and a raid 0 arrangement using 2 128 gig ssd's. Where would the NLE and uthoring softwazre be placed and how do I effectively use such a set up?

Jim Bigg
Jim Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 04:06 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amelia Island, Florida
Posts: 23
comments please

Here's what I'm thinking of building. I've changed my system drive pick since last post. I would appreciate everyone's comments and suggestions. Main use = AVCHD editing and then rendering to BluRay or avchd on DL . . .

CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-965 Extreme Edition 3.2 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366

MOTHERBOARD: EVGA X58 3X SLI Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX Mainboard Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA, Dual GbLAN, USB2.0, Dual IEEE1394& 7.1Audio

MEMORY: 12GB (2GBx6) DDR3/1600MHz Triple Channel Memory Module

VIDEO CARD: ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express Dual DVI-I & TVO

HARD DRIVE: Single Hard Drive (150GB Gaming Western Digital VelociRaptor 10, 000RPM SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache WD1500HLFS)

DATA HARD DRIVE: Extreme Performance (RAID-0) with 2 Identical Hard Drives (256GB (128GBx2) Ritek RiDATA 2.5 inch SATA Gaming MLC Solid State Disk HARD DRIVE COOLING

Optical Drive: LG GGW-H20L 6X INTERNAL SUPER MULTI BLUE BLU-RAY DISC REWRITER & HD DVD-ROM DRIVE

Optical Drive 2: LG GGC-H20L BLU-RAY/HD-DVD Reader / DVD±R/±RW Writer (Black Color)

SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO

OS: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium w/ Service Pack 1 (64-bit Edition)
Jim Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 04:27 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
How much does the video card come into play for video production? I always assumed a high end video card was mostly for gaming.

I chose this one (Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards) mainly because I saw it recommended on another build up.

Jim, I see where you're using a 2GB video card. Is that much video memory necessary or are you just making sure it doesn't become a bottle neck?
__________________
Motorsports Web and Video: http://www.OctaneMedia.com

Last edited by Brit Mansell; March 19th, 2009 at 05:07 AM.
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2009, 05:32 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Suburbs
Posts: 86
Brit -
I built a similar system in January with a 4850X2 2GB and I wish I had spent the money on a Nvidia instead seems more NLEs play nice with nvidia than ATIs
Ken Steadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2009, 05:07 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Steadman View Post
Brit -
I built a similar system in January with a 4850X2 2GB and I wish I had spent the money on a Nvidia instead seems more NLEs play nice with nvidia than ATIs
That's good to know. Thanks, Ken.
__________________
Motorsports Web and Video: http://www.OctaneMedia.com
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2009, 08:38 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amelia Island, Florida
Posts: 23
vid card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brit Mansell View Post
Jim, I see where you're using a 2GB video card. Is that much video memory necessary or are you just making sure it doesn't become a bottle neck?
Brit

I'm buying the vid card mem hoping the software folks (NLEs) will grow into the hardware in the future. After further research, I'm wondering if the NVIDIA gtx 295 might be better. Some NLE's say they are programmed to use nividia, others ati. It's all very blurred. No straight answers from any source so far.

Jim
Jim Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2009, 08:42 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Bigg View Post
Brit

I'm buying the vid card mem hoping the software folks (NLEs) will grow into the hardware in the future. After further research, I'm wondering if the NVIDIA gtx 295 might be better. Some NLE's say they are programmed to use nividia, others ati. It's all very blurred. No straight answers from any source so far.

Jim
Wow, that's a nice looking card. Pricey, but nice. Thanks.
__________________
Motorsports Web and Video: http://www.OctaneMedia.com
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2009, 08:48 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amelia Island, Florida
Posts: 23
dual monitor

Brit -

I also want dual monitor support. ATI had 2 DVI and with dongle can also deliver hdmi playback to 1080 tv/monitor

Jim
Jim Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2009, 08:56 AM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 23
This looks like a decent price on the GTX 295: SuperBiiz.com - MSI nVidia GeForce GTX 295 1792MB 2DVI/HDMI PCI-Express Video Card. It also has dual DVI and HDMI.

Man, that thing is huge.
__________________
Motorsports Web and Video: http://www.OctaneMedia.com
Brit Mansell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network