Build or buy editing computer setup? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 26th, 2003, 01:56 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 65
Build or buy editing computer setup?

I'm finally in a position to buy an dedicated NLE video editing computer. This editing system will be used to edit our video for VHS, DVD, Intenet and hopefully broadcast medias. Budget is 5K.

The next decision is whether to purchase a turn key system or build one. I've built several computers so I'm familair with how to install hardware and software.

I would like to use a dual Intel processor to have the brute horsepower if needed. I know Macs are sweet to use but do I need to go that route or stay in the Micro$oft world?

Is it better in the long run to buy an turn key system for video editing or to build the system yourself? Any venders or brands to look at?

Other components I would need are an audio mixer, voiceover mic and a dual monitor setup. Any other equipment that is needed?

Basically looking for a poh boy pro editing setup. Camera will be a GL2. I see where several members have recommended picking the editing software 1st and then getting the computer to match the software. I haven't a clue to which one to pick. I see Vegas and Premiere mentioned a lot here and they seem to be the most popular.

Thank you for your help.
__________________
Jesse James
Owner/Producer
Jesse's Hunting & Outdoors
Jesse James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2003, 09:05 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 581
Buying a turnkey system from, say, Compaq, Gateway or Dell is never the high performance solution. They match the performance to the price they want to offer by redesigning the components, whereas if you build your own you can match the performance to what you need.

When it comes time to get the latest widget, it's sometimes easier to swap out the component without concern whether it will work. Compaq in particular is horrendous for this.

The only disadvantage is that by the time I want the latest widget I need to upgrade everything else anyway.
Rob Belics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2003, 11:18 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
You can do a lot with 5k. If your budget is really that high, you can afford to save yourself the various hassles of system configuration and buy a turnkey system. Find a good reputable system integrator, present your budget, and get yourself a good fast system with lots of RAM.
__________________
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2003, 05:15 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 343
Jesse, I'm in the process of upgrading to a new NLE myself and first went to some NLE system integrators to see what they were offering that would be compatible with the Real Time card I plan to use. I've been using a Matrox RT2500 for a couple of years and have been satisfied with it, but may switch to Canopus this time. Still undecided there, but will likely go with Matrox or Canopus. I also want to play around with Vegas and see what that's all about, but Premiere Pro looks sweet!

Next I checked the NLE vendor websites to see what components had been certified for use with their boards. I then went to newegg.com and priced out the identical components used by the system integrators to determine what premium would be paid for a turnkey system. Turns out that they are getting anywhere from $300 - $1000 over a DIY system for identical parts. ($300 isn't too bad, but $1000 will buy a lot of extras)

I'm planning to go with a P4 3.0Ghz system, not a dual CPU board, so you might want to go through the same exercise and see what you come up with.

Good Luck and let us know how it all works out.
__________________
Ed Frazier
Ed Frazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2003, 06:42 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 245
check out HDBoxx.

www.boxxtech.com

Rob
Robert Poulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2003, 10:31 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
I just did a major upgrade of my main editing computer.

From a dual PIII 850's with one gig to:

Asus P4C800-E deluxe $185
holds 4 gigs of ram
4 IDE drive channels
2 SATA regular + 2 SATA RAID ports
1 IDE RAID port for 2 drives
Intel gigabit LAN
8 USB
2 firewire
Game/MIDI port
ESBU digital sound
6.1 sound card
slot for wireless LAN card
Intel P4 2.4C Ht $169
Matched OCZ 512 meg sticks of ddr3200 ram $289
Radeon 9600 Pro $168
550 watt power supply $98

To a 60 gig C drive, and a 120 and 200 gig WD 7200 rpm, 8 meg buffer drives I added a 160 gig Seagate SATA drive $209

I already had the Server cabinet so I didn't have to pay for that but a Server cab can be had for under $200.

I already have a Canopus DVRexRT with Edius so I didn't have to do anything but slide the new motherboard under them.

Fast enough for most of the realtime I need. Only requires rendering with 3D transitions which I don't use. Video and Audio filters are all real time.

A dual Intel solution would be a lot more expensive.

I'd wait a bit if you can and see how the 64 bit AMD chipset plays out. It is said to be faster with 32 bit code than the Intels and, of course, very fast with 64 bit code.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2003, 12:05 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Go with the NLE/hardware combo you like best. For encoding stuff I prefer the PC platform because all the good encoders are there. Go with either a Pentium or dual Xeons (expensive). Benchmarks comparing the 2 are at anadtech.com and tomshardware.com. For great value go with an overclocked Pentium system. You can end up with a system that has a definite advantage over the most expensive stock system while paying a bit less.

But Macs are sweet....
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2003, 01:09 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 366
I wondered but haven't asked by now - can you mix IDE and SATA drives? Also how do you partition the drives? I guess the video drive is best to be left all one partition.
Bogdan Vaglarov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2003, 01:17 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can mix those kinds of drives. IDE is cheaper right now I believe.

You can partition the drives with the included software or with a program like partition magic. One partition is fine and probably the best setup.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2003, 02:53 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 65
Thanks for all the input. It looks like a single P4 will do for now from reading Anand's and Tom's.

Mike, what are the 2 extra drives used for on your new editing system? Backup?
__________________
Jesse James
Owner/Producer
Jesse's Hunting & Outdoors
Jesse James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2003, 11:11 AM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
A second drive is almost mandatory for video editing.

I normally have 4-5 projects underway that are up to 3 hours in length. Frequently, even for short projects, I may have 4 or 5 hours of video so it all takes a lot of storage.

I'll probably add another SATA drive in the next month or so.

I just took 6 SCSI drives off of the system and replaced all of them with more capacity in just the one 160 Gig SATA.

5 X 18 gig Barracudas
1 X 75 gig Cheetah

The SATA is a little bit more expensive than ATA drives but it is faster by enough that it makes a difference in how many RT video streams I can handle.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2003, 12:58 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
just want to add in the storage note. if you get TWO promise s150 sx4 RAID controllers and buy 6 Maxtor 200GB hard drives and put them all in RAID 0 config (4 on1 and 2 on the other) you can have over 1 terabyte of hard drive =D. imagine having 10+ hrs of DV footage for your chopping enjoyment =D.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2003, 01:05 PM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
You don't need to buy the Promise controllers to get RAID.

NT, 2000 & XP will support software RAID very nicely.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2003, 06:00 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Hey, you have to check this site out: http://www.go-l.com/. Their editing systems are beasts!!! Their setups are definitely possible although some people claim their site is a hoax. But really, it's worth visiting because it looks like a clone of the Apple site and their setups are nice.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2003, 11:39 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
although the promise will fair not much better (since it doesn't have an onboard processor) that doesn't mean it won't do a much better job than win. software RAID should be avoided at all costs!!! data is too precious to play games with. what promise's card will have is hardware "accelerated" assistance and that, my friend, is MUCH better than having NOTHING at all. i strongly urge against software RAIDs. besides the price/performance is not too shabby @all. sheck this out:

http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/perf/...oftware-c.html

Quote:
-- Originally posted by Mike Rehmus : You don't need to buy the Promise controllers to get RAID.

NT, 2000 & XP will support software RAID very nicely.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network