XL1s Capt at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2003, 12:32 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 69
XL1s Capt

I did a search but I couldnít seem to find my any answer to my problem. Here it is, when I plug in my XL1s no editing program will recognize it. Premiere Pro, Vegas 4, ScenalyzerLive, or windows movie maker.

But hereís the catch, my Sony trv25 works fine in all those apps! But one day I just went to capture video with the cannon and it didnít work. Iím running windows xp, amd 2200+, asus motherboard, capturing using the onboard ohci 1394.

So I thought, hey itís been at least 2 mouths since I did a format (I do a LOT of things on my comp) Iíll give it a format. So here I am today andÖ. No workie. The most obvious thing to do is try the cam out on another comp which Iíll do tomorrow but just wondered if someone had similar problems?

Thanks
Jacob Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2003, 03:18 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 390
You probably don't want to hear this, but it could be the camera.. if it recognizes another camera but not another, that's a possibility. Try it on other computers if possible, to see if they will recognize it.

The upside (kinda) is, if it does turn out to be the camera, Canon will not only fix it if you send it in, but they will do a normal refurbishment of anything that needs replacing or fixing, so you'll have a nice "tuned-up" camera afterwards.

But I could very well be wrong about it being the camera! Has it recognized it before?
__________________
alextaylor.org
Alex Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2003, 06:32 AM   #3
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Actually, I was surprised at how easily Premiere 5 worked with the XL1s. I would tend to look towards the firewire port on your camera, and see if it is in order.
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2003, 01:23 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Make sure the cam is in VCR mode, just for grins. One other test is to try copying cam to cam and see if that works.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2003, 01:45 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 390
Yeah, good idea Nathan. If you get a 4-pin (or 3-pin? whatever's the smallest end) parallel firewire cable and connect the two cameras, playing with a few settings you should be able to dub one tape on to another. If you can dub a tape in the XL1 to a tape in your Sony then the firewire port on the camera is fine..
__________________
alextaylor.org
Alex Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2003, 08:26 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 69
Today I tried the cam out on another computer, and it didnít work. And I did try in VCR mode with non success. I donít have a 4pin to 4pin firewire cable, (probably get one now) but Iím still in denial that itís not the cameras fault. (Cause I need it this Sunday for a shoot)

Going over to another friendís house to try it on his computer tonight. But if I do send it in to get repaired should I send it to cannon where itís still under warranty, or I purchased a 2 year warranty with the camera and it says to send it two ďMack Camera & Video ServiceĒ in New Jersey? Thanks for your help guys.
Jacob Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2003, 03:02 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 390
The best idea would be send it to Canon if it's still under warranty with them. This might differ from store to store, but I believe most stores would send it off to Canon instead of fixing it themselves.

You said you need it for a shoot.. keep in mind if your firewire port is gone your camera will still work fine for shooting, you just can't use it as a deck. I say shoot on Sunday and send it off Monday ;)
__________________
alextaylor.org
Alex Taylor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network