what's your set-up? - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 15th, 2003, 06:01 AM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 74
hi Kevin,

Thanks for your clarifications.

I am gonna probably get a fast 80G hard disk and a firewire card.

Just wondering do you have any experience in using Premiere Pro?

My fren could lend me his Premiere Pro but it was recommended that I use the Win XP Pro to run with this version. Reasons given by pple who suggested this was

1) Premiere Pro was a revolution to all the previous versions. In fact, it was built to recapture the market share lost to Vegas and Avid.
2) XP PRO has best codec among all other WIN OS
3) XP PRO is more stable

Any comments on these?
Ong Wan Shu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 12:27 AM   #32
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Premiere pro does not work on anything before 2000 i believe

i think im guarenteed you have to use xp tho because it wouldnt let me install it


but im not even naming my computer setup. It is truly trash and i need anew computer
Steve Iacono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 04:22 AM   #33
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
ong,

Premiere Pro will only work with XP I believe Home edition as well as Pro. XP pro gives you more administrative functions.

I believe that you also need a certain type of processor for it to work correctly. Intel P4 with something or other.

Search Adobes website for spec.

Cheers,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 02:37 PM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Saskatoon SK Canada
Posts: 134
Just got a very nice new Toshiba P20 notebook, after editing on a Sony PIII @ 750 mHz, everything is much faster.

17" widescreen
P4 @ 3.2gHz w/ HT
1gb DDR2100 RAM 2 x 512mb
DVD-R/-RW 4x/2x ( internal )
Maxtor 80gb 5400 ( internal )
Maxtor 80gb 7200 (external 1394 )
Maxtor 160gb 7200 (external USB 2.0)
Maxtor 160gb 7200 (external USB 2.0)
Yamaha CD-R/-RW (external 1394 )
Windows XP Professional OS
Sony DSR-20 DVCam VCR
Sony DSR-PD150 DVCam
Sony VX2000 MiniDV
__________________
neilfisher.com
Neil Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2003, 01:10 AM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
I just got my hardware in yesterday and I'm about to configure it. This is what I'm planning to do

72gb Western Digital SATA @ 10000rpm
Two Partitions: 10gb for System files
62gb for Video Editting programs and Apps

Two 36gb Western Digital SATA @ 10000rpm setup as Raid0
Four Partitions: 20gb for Capture
20gb for Rendered Files
28gb for Data
4gb for Pagefile.

Do you thinks this setup will work best for NLE and will be ok for the page file to exist on a Raid0?
Anthony Meluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2003, 10:13 AM   #36
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 484
<<<-- Originally posted by Anthony Meluso : I just got my hardware in yesterday and I'm about to configure it. This is what I'm planning to do

72gb Western Digital SATA @ 10000rpm
Two Partitions: 10gb for System files
62gb for Video Editting programs and Apps

Two 36gb Western Digital SATA @ 10000rpm setup as Raid0
Four Partitions: 20gb for Capture
20gb for Rendered Files
28gb for Data
4gb for Pagefile.

Do you thinks this setup will work best for NLE and will be ok for the page file to exist on a Raid0? -->>>


I think, for the money, you'd be much better off with two WD 120GB 8meg cache drives in your Raid array. These drives are cheaper and more than enough for your editing needs. The faster rpm won't do much for you, since rendering time really depends on your processing power and memory.

The money you save buying 2 ATA drives instead of SATA could pay for an extra stick of memory. Or a better case, power supply, etc...

I'd personally get a SATA for system files and apps though, can't go wrong there.
__________________
Andrew | Canon XL1s, ME66, Vinten Vision 3, GlideCam V16 (for sale!)
Andrew Petrie is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network