Problems with video capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2003, 01:38 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Problems with video capture

Two days ago I had a problem I almost could identify as related to Windows 2000pro updating.

Until then I had set my PC for dual boot: 98SE and 2000pro. The reason for this was because I decided to try Avid Xpress 3.0, capturing through an Adaptec 1394 card. My camera is Hi-8, so I had to use a Canopus ADVC100.

Things worked fine from the start. Video and audio were great. This 2000pro partition was to be used for editing only, but I decided to go and update Windows at Microsoft site. Perhaps there was some bug somewhere that hadn't yet come up but would eventually.

So I did update, with all the things the update engine recommended. But then nothing seemed to work when capturing. It simply didn't see the video input, just as if it wasn't there.

At first I thought it might be an Xpress problem, so I downloaded the Vegas 4 trial version. Same thing: no video.

Took away the Zone Alarm to see if it was blocking something. Nothing changed.

So I went back to the 98SE and tried the Vegas 4 there: capture was fine. So it wasn't a 1394 or a Canopus problem. It looked as if something in the Windows update was not working properly.

To try things again I formatted another HD and re-installed Windows 2000pro, with no update. Things worked fine.

Also tried to re-install 2000pro original disk over the updated install, but that didn't work.

Any idea what might be happening or what I might do?


Carlos E. Martinez
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 10:09 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I think the update overwrote a driver that you perhaps had
installed for the ADVC100 or some other device? Or perhaps
it just overwrote ONE LITTLE PIECE of a driver or something
like that.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 03:05 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : I think the update overwrote a driver that you perhaps had
installed for the ADVC100 or some other device? Or perhaps
it just overwrote ONE LITTLE PIECE of a driver or something
like that. -->>>

Probably something was overwritten.

But you do not install any driver for the ADVC100. The 1394 driver belongs to the Adaptec Firewire board.

It's really a puzzle what I might do about it. For now, as I don't need upgrading the rest to 2000pro, I will stay with 98SE. 2000pro only for editing.


Carlos
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network