wide screen with GL2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 22nd, 2003, 06:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 70
wide screen with GL2

I shoot with a Canon GL2..
I want to have black bars, top and bottom, wide screen look..on my finished video, and play it on any regular television
Can I add these in Premiere post production?
Is there a stand alone software that will allow this?

Any suggestions
Thank you for your help.
__________________
Thanks for your help everyone.
Thomas Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2003, 10:39 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Yes, in fact you are better off doing that, as opposed to anamorophic widescreen, unelss you're distributing on DVD. Just do a crop of 12% and 13% on the top and bottom, respectively. That's all there is to it.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 08:46 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 70
wide screen

I am new to editing , could you please tell me how to crop to get wide screen effect??
Thank you
__________________
Thanks for your help everyone.
Thomas Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 07:29 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Search for "Crop" in the help documentation for Premier. It's one of the video effects you can apply to clips.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2003, 09:32 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
I think in Premiere the filter is actually 'clip'.

Doesn't 'crop' compress the image when you use it? I always get those mixed up.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2003, 05:10 AM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
There is a way to do this directly in the camera. See the "title mix" tutorial from Tustin Larson at http://www.dvinfo.net/canongl2/index.php. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network