Problem With Re-importing Finished Projects at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2003, 05:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 31
Problem With Re-importing Finished Projects

Several weeks ago, after I exported my finished wedding video, my hard drive crashed. I've had this computer for two years and never experience this problem.

Unfortunately, I hadn't backed up my work and lost all my project information when I reinstalled the "original" system, using the recovery CD's.

I have a Sony Vaio, 1.3 gig, with about 248 mb of RAM.

I use "DVGATE" software to capture my footage.

The problem I had was when I attempted to re-capture the completed Wedding project, I noticed distortion on the audio, when I play the footage back on my Premeire 6.0 program.

I wanted to make a short Demo by cutting out several scenes from complete the Wedding project, however this sound is horrible.

What am I doing wrong? Do I need to change the audio settings when re-capturing this type of project?

Thanks,

Clarence
Clarence Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2003, 04:15 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 31
???

Any advice, gang???

Clarence
Clarence Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2003, 07:08 PM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If I'm not mistaken the Sony Vaio has a lot of custom stuff in
drivers and the OS. Did you install all the Vaio needed stuff?
Like the Soundcard drivers etc.?

Do you have your harddisk running in DMA? If you don't know
where this is, please let us know what OS you are running.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2003, 06:25 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 31
Thanks for responding Rob.

I'm using the Windows ME OS, and when I originally bought the computer all sound & capture cards, and Adobe LE software, were pre-installed.

Clarence
Clarence Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2003, 09:37 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I've I'm not mistaken Sony delivers a special version of Premiere
with it? Isn't this software re-installed automatically to factory
settings when you run the included CD's?

I don't own a Vaio so can't check this all out for myself. But I
heard some things from a friend a couple of years ago about
the Vaio being pretty picky with such things.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network