Maxtor FireWire Enclosure at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2003, 08:04 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Maxtor FireWire Enclosure

Hey All - I just had a 20 month old Maxtor 3000DV 80gb FireWire Hard Drive fail on me. Most of my media became corrupt. Tons of SBP errors and finally the computer will hang if the drive is connected. I don't really care about the media on it, it is all re-creatable. My questions are:

If I could get it to mount, does this sound like it might be fixable by a reformat? I haven't heard any death knells from this particular drive. And honestly since the day I bought it, it has been flakey. I have a sister drive that is absolutely perfect.

Do you think I could open the case and pop in a new drive? Anything to look for there?

Thanks, I appreciate all you help.

Tony Caronia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2003, 01:40 PM   #2
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The chance is pretty big that the drive is just dead. There are
special recovery tools, but those are expensive. Reformatting
might work, but basically I personally would never trust such
a drive again.

If the drive is dead why not open it up and see if it is replacable
indeed. Who knows. If it is dead, what do you have to loose.

Rob Lohman,
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search for quick answers | Buy from the best: sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2003, 05:22 PM   #3
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,315
Well first, if it indeed has always been a flaky drive, I'd definitely try to see if I could get some warranty service done.

If it is out of warranty, and even if the drive does seemingly fix from a reformat, I would never use that dern thing again. Flaky drives are an awful weak link to have in your setup, because at any point they could go out and take something priceless away with them.

80Gb drives are dirt cheap these days (relatively speaking). You should be able to just slap another one in its place. You may have a problem, however, trying to put a drive larger than 250Gb in there (I think that's the trouble-point if memory serves), as the case may not have the newer chips that allow for larger drives in external cases.

However, there should be no reason why you can't just put any old drive in there. Usually all a branded external enclosure is, is a pretty case that ultimately uses the same rebranded chip on the inside. Usually, the only reason to pick one external case over another is looks.
Imran Zaidi is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network