PP to Encore? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 4th, 2004, 02:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winnsboro, SC
Posts: 96
PP to Encore?

I finally getting paid to do a project and Premire Pro is acting up on me. I can't get it to burn the project to DVD as it has done before. I am using a DVR-04 with firmware 1.32 and it states simply that there was an error. Dosen't give me any info. Usally happens around the time it starts to burn it to disk (about 1.5 hrs into it). I have a 1.6Mhz AMD (slow) and 1 Gig of DDR. I am in the process of updating the firmware to 1.40 on the burner.

I was tryin' to use the Adobe DVD Encore to make my menu's and such. Is there a way to import my ppro project directly into encore? I tried to drag and drop and it said it is not supported. NOT SUPPORTED!!! It's an Adobe project!! How the heck can it NOT be supported?

Just wondering. Thanks,
Barry
__________________
"No matter how good she looks; somebody, somewhere is tried of putting up with her crap."

Randy Brazell
Barry Gilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2004, 02:18 PM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I assume you must render your Premiere project to mpeg first
before it will be accepted by Encore. Most DVD authoring packages
only understand mpeg2, and not, for example, native DV files.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2004, 02:25 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winnsboro, SC
Posts: 96
Sometimes I miss the obivous stuff.

Thanks Rob,

I was just draging the saved project in thinking if PP knew where everything was and how to play it back, then so would Encore.

So if I understand you right, I export it out as a mpeg and then use Encore to add my chapters and menu to it.

Thanks again for the quick answers.
__________________
"No matter how good she looks; somebody, somewhere is tried of putting up with her crap."

Randy Brazell
Barry Gilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2004, 02:40 PM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That should do it. Make sure you output to mpeg2 and use
Premiere's DVD template!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2004, 11:44 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Barry,

I'm not too experienced with Encore yet, and I'm at work so can't verify that I'm entirely correct ... but I believe that you can put your chapter markers in the PP timeline (not clip markers, but timeline markers). The chapter markers should remain in the rendered mpeg (actually I think it is best to render to *.m2v, along with a separate sound file) that you would import into Encore.

By putting the chapter markers in the PP timeline, if you decide to rework or update your project, or import a sequence to another project, you wouldn't have to recreate your basic chapter markers in Encore.

As an aside, I THINK Encore will also accept an avi file (maybe uncompressed if your system is speedy enough to handle it?), but then would have to encode it to an *.m2v and an audio file anyway. I'm not sure if Encore also uses the MainConcept MPEG Encoder that PP does, so I don't know if doing it this way would be an advantage or a disadvantage. Maybe someone with more knowledge can speak to that.

Cheers,
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2004, 01:32 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 21
Every time I have used Encore it has said that it prefers to use the raw AVI uncompressed format to anything else and that it would compress it when you go to burn it; but it would accept already encoded mpeg2 as well.
Craig Demaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2004, 07:05 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winnsboro, SC
Posts: 96
Temp hold

I am currently upgrading my computer. (Adobe stuff is Ram/Processor intensive) I have installed a new 3.0Ghz Intel IC7 MoBo and 3200 pc (512 for the moment. I will let you guys know how it goes when I can get it up and running again.

Thanks for all the advice.
__________________
"No matter how good she looks; somebody, somewhere is tried of putting up with her crap."

Randy Brazell
Barry Gilbert is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network